Monkeys, sloths, lizards


Advertisement
Published: July 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

After my sunburn from the previous day, I decided I would hide from the big burning ball as much as possible. We headed out and wandered through the national park. I had already been impressed by the amount of wildlife in the town - there were large lizards, everywhere (I had even seen one raiding a dog food bowl). There were gangs of little capuchin monkeys that ran across the trees above and across the ropes strung across the road.

In the park there was even more to see, including some critters that I don't know the names of. We got to see the monkeys up close, since they are not shy at all. There were more sloths, lizards, big crabs, etc to see. The beaches in the park were great - more peaceful than the main beach since there was not someone trying to sell you a pina colada or some pottery vase every 5 minutes.

Trish took an afternoon nap while I took the mobile sauna (ie bus) into Quepos to look around and send a couple of parcels. Quepos was nothing too interesting but it was good to get rid of the extra stuff that I had been lugging around that I wished that I hadn't brought: too many socks, a sleep sack, a nalgene bottle, a polypop shirt; plus the other things we had bought in Panama: paintings and coffee...

Once the sun was setting and the thunderstorm kicked in, I thought it would be safe to take my pink body into the surf for a swim. The sky seems to go a weird yellowish colour during thunderstorms at dawn and dusk - an interesting phenomenon.

After dark we noticed a sloth had found its way down onto the waterfront and was hanging from a powerline. He was dripping wet from the storm and seemed like had taken a wrong turn somewhere... poor little guy!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0537s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb