Manuel Antonio :)


Advertisement
Published: November 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Since the next time I write it will be after Thursday so.... Happy Thanksgiving! Let’s just say rice and beans doesn’t compare to a good ole American Thanksgiving, where literally the whole day is devoted to eating! Que rico! For thanksgiving, all of the students at my program here are going to a restaurant where we are going to have dinner together. The hotel is really nice and I am looking forward to spending some time with the rest of my amigos here

The last trip I took was to Manuel Antonio with Danny, mi novio! Manuel Antonio is a beautiful place and the beaches inside of the National Park are gorgeous. The bus ride to MA from San Jose is great too. Compared to some of my other adventures it super easy, like 4 hours or less! We arrived on Friday and left Monday. We had perfect weather, super hot and sunny and only a couple hours of rain. On Saturday, we ventured into the national park. After paying $10 per person to enter, we stayed there for the entire day and hiked to the different beaches. On the way to the beach there is tons of monkeys in
Playa Manuel AntonioPlaya Manuel AntonioPlaya Manuel Antonio

Inside the national park, this was my favorite beach!
all of the trees! Although, my favorite part is the beach! Amazing white sand and crystal clear blue water, perfect for swimming, I was in heaven! The only bad part about the beach is all of the sand that is never ending in your clothes, hair and backpack once you leave beach. And lets just say the one time I decided to agree with Danny and go into the water, I got knocked down by the waves, thrown under water and a bathing suit full of sand once the tide left. That was my first and last time in the water, I think I belong on the beach! 😊

On Sunday, we also went snorkeling too! But first we kayaked from the beach out into the ocean near these rocks where we then jumped into the water! A guide went with us in another kayak to hold our kayak while we swam. Although I saw some awesome fish and rocks, it was really difficult because the water was super choppy and the waves were huge! Danny of course loved it and I was terrified! Even with my life jacket on I was plunged under water many times and Danny being the fish he is opted not to wear one! Unfortunately like most things here, summer is the best time of the year, which is coming really soon, January and February are the peak times. And apparently where we were at the snorkeling is great. I guess I will have to give it a try again some other time!

Don’t get me wrong Manuel Antonio was awesome, but it was very touristy. They did have some awesome restaurants too! The Lonely planet oh so correct when talking about places in CR. This past weekend, I started to venture to Playa Conchal, but unfortunately one of the gals I was traveling with had her backpack stolen on the bus, so we decided not to go. A very unfortunate event, but a big reminder to always be super careful. Although this week, I am continuing working at my school, which I love. The kids are great and love talking to me. They always have 1000 questions about the US. And it’s a bilingual school so the kids know English. On most days I get to help out with English class which is really a fun experience and great practice for me because I have to use Spanish and English. It also really helps the kids to hear a “native” English speaker too! I think I am going to do my final trip this weekend to another beach. As my time here winds down, I am both excited to come home to spend the holidays with my family yet at the same time I have had a great time here in CR. Although all good things must come to an end.

I will see you all very soon, but first ---please eat some turkey and pie for me! Thanks!
Hugs,
Courtney 😊



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.248s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1957s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb