Boat Day


Advertisement
Published: February 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Woke up WAY too early this morning to start a long day of running errands. After a long run yesterday afternoon and surfing until dark, my whole body felt completely spent when I woke up this morning. My shoulders are finally getting used to paddling out every day, but my legs are killing me from the running. There is a really cool run from the house into town, a long gravel road (if you would call it that) that follows the bluffs overlooking the bay, crossing small streams teaming with caimen and discarded tires. Once you crest the hill, there is a picturesque view off from the hill looking into the bay and the Pacific beyond. It eventually drops onto the beach for the remainder of the path, roughly 3 kilometers each way. I usually stop on the way back to try my best at knocking down coconuts and pipas to drink, but it often takes me at least 10 tries. Anyway, I got up around 5:00 and walked into town with my headlamp, just in time to drink some coffee and hop on the dive boat. We snaked around the mouth of the bay to the river mouth, where head high waves meet the Rio Sierpe as it empties into the ocean. As the sun creapt up and over the cordillera de talamanca range, it lit up the glassy waves in a cool, deep red hue. The waves are perfect in the morning, and I was seriously regretting not having a board. We continued on up the river, about an hour, until we got to the small village where we were to get supplies for the resort. I counted 6 crocodiles in the river, which made me quite happy that I was not surfing after all. Sierpe is little more than a jumping-off point for Drake, consisting of a few houses, one hotel, and a restaurant and supermarket. We soon exhausted the town's resources and opted to head to the next town, Palmar Norte, which is slightly bigger and actually has an ATM, a rarity in these parts. I picked up some more coffee and a few knick-knacks, then got a nice bottle of wine for Alexis, who has graciously allowed me to stay in her wonderful house for a month, free of charge. I stay there with her and Daniel, whose relationship status changes with the winds. I enjoy their company, and the place is absolutely breathtaking. It is so relaxing after a long day in the jungle and the waves to sit back, drink a beer or two, and listen to some decent music while cooking dinner. The local favorite seems to be Jack Johnson, and despite my suggestions, that is the soundtrack the sun dips into the Pacific to every night. It is a peaceful existence, no stress, just good times, good people and even better views. I will be here for a few more weeks, then it is off to the Peninsula de Nicoya for the remainder of my trip. I have been looking at some houses to rent, and found some super cool little cabinas that are up for rent in April. More to come when I find a home...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0435s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb