What a Beautiful Day


Advertisement
Costa Rica's flag
Central America Caribbean » Costa Rica » Heredia » Heredia
September 30th 2010
Published: October 3rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

DSCF0736DSCF0736DSCF0736

Though Tami might enjoy seeing this one!
Hello All.

My day was perfect. I didn't have to wake up until 7:30 this morning because Oky changed our class time to 9am now. Miriam made me a tamale con frijoles which made my taste buds happier than ever! I can't wait until Miriam teaches me how to make tamales so I can make them when I get home for my entire family and show their taste buds who's boss. =) So not only was breakfast amazing, but the sun decided to show its face today. I actually got to wear my sunnies today!

Class was the usual. A nice 4 hours of nothing but Spanish conversation with Oky. We worked on irregular verbs today. If you ask me there are WAY to many ways that 1 single word can be said. Pronunciation is extremely important! Just to explain a little more for example....this afternoon I was looking at Miriam's homemade jewelry collection and I had mentioned that I hadn't had lunch yet.

Me: "Miriam, no he almorzado todavia."
Miriam: "Ahh si?!?"
Me: "si, pero no tengo hombres."
Miriam: "Hombres??? Que?"

Okay well to make a long confusing story short...basically the word hombre has 2 meanings
DSCF0737DSCF0737DSCF0737

Where I made my 1st jewelry purchase!
in english. I managed to pronounce it the wrong way of course. The word "hombres" means men in english. The word "hambre" means hunger. The pronunciation of the "O" and "A"is different. To defend myself Oky and I were talking about men in class today for at least 30 minutes so the word just happen to be on my mind. Once Miriam understood what I was trying to say we had ourselves quite the laugh.

Anywho, after class today the weather was still perfect so I decided I should take advantage and actually go exercise. I threw on my tennis shoes and went for a much needed run around the massive soccer stadium that is 2 blocks away. Let me just say one thing...HILLS ARE NO FUN!! My hamstrings hate me right now. But, I did discover a few more places to eat and most importantly I almost didn't feel like a tourist. yay! =)

When I arrived back at the house and cleaned up Miriam wanted to show me some of her homemade jewelry. Muy increible! Miriam is very talented. Some just might have a gift headed their way =)
Oh by the way this is where
DSCF0738DSCF0738DSCF0738

Parque Central
that whole misunderstanding happened....haha

The rain did begin to fall mmm say about 10 minutes after I got back in the house. But I beat it and had a great day enjoying Heredia! Ojala hay no llueva manana!

Pura Vida!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

DSCF0740DSCF0740
DSCF0740

Cafe Flores...where I got lunch Day 2 and 3


Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.03s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0411s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb