The Weekend Arrives!


Advertisement
Published: December 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Posted by John
A week of class has passed and the weekend is greatly welcomed. I taught Friday night and it went extremely well. My class was very responsive and we all had a lot of fun. Being Friday night and the end of a somewhat stressful week, all of us in the TEFL program decided to go and have a beer after class. The other students have found a favorite local bar to frequent near the house they are staying at. This bar, “Pablitos”, is a true Tico bar. We were the only gringos there. The bar offers a bowl of what they call “boca” with every beer that you order. This boca is a bowl of thick stew with lots of huge chunks of beef or chicken on top. Some of the best stew I have had and included in the price of every beer. Quite a bargain at $1.60 a beer. Alongside the stew comes a jar of hot peppers and vegetables in a clear sauce. Stupid gringo here decides to put one in my bowl of stew. Ha, it immediately created an entirely new digestive tract of its own through my body. I felt shivers run down the length of my spine and lost all feeling in my mouth for a good ten minutes. My next bowl was sans-peppers. After a few rounds of stew and beer, Megan and I were stuffed.
Today, Megan and I went to the beach so Megan could surf. What’s my excuse? Well, someone has to document it all right? I set up camp up above the beach away from the rising tide and notice a battalion of hermit crabs about the size of a dime running by. Very cool. So Megan decides on the lessons. $35 for five hours that includes the surfboard rental and she can stretch the lessons out over days if she wants. What do you know, Megan is a natural! First time up and she is surfing a wave. Unfortunately on her first dismount, a wave throws the board into her face and busts her lip open. Not to be daunted, she ices it down for a few minutes and runs back out for more action. I wish all of you could have seen her. It was very impressive! After an hour or so of surfing, Megan was worn out. Who would have known it was such a workout? We ambled back to the apt and are now making dinner listening to the rain that has just begun to fall on our tin roof. Beautiful day if I do say so myself!



Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



2nd December 2008

Megs en la playa
Brava ala Reina del mar!
15th December 2008

We have enjoyed reading your comments via the blog. I am sure by now you are settling into your classes, beginning to feel somewhat settled in your new surroundings, BUT still trying to abosrb it all. We will miss you at Christmas! Mike

Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0413s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb