Preparation continues...


Advertisement
Published: November 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Added by John on November 1st.
The final countdown begins! It is starting to feel real now as the departure date becomes increasingly closer. Megan and I are probably underestimating all that is to be done before we go, but overall I believe we have the necessities taken care of, ie; tickets, luggage, place to stay, money, and so on.
Work for me has pretty much come to completion. My seniority at work has collided with the slowing of the economy and therefore, business. Megan on the other hand has one more week at work until she is done. Now that I am done, she really wishes that she didn't have to work another week, but all will be done soon and we will both be able to focus all of our attention on getting the final push under way!
Once Megan is out of work, we will have approximately a week and a half to do the final purge, pack, and final visits before departure. It will be tight but I think it's do-able.
One of the challenges before we go is the selling of the cars. We need to use them, or at least one of them up until a day or two before we leave. It will be a challenge finding someone to buy the car and be willing to not take delivery until a day before we leave.
Another challenge we face is the question of what exactly to take with us. Aside from the rather obvious personal necessities for day to day living like clothes and bathroom articles, there is a myriad of items on the fringe list that are up in the air. I think the deciding factor will come to how much we think we will need to take with us versus how much we want to carry. That decision will probably be made for us. Besides, there is not going to be a glut of things that can't be found once we are there, or at least have shipped later. It will just be a shame to have to buy some items over again. I have read plenty of stories of families renting shipping containers and having all of their household goods shipped to where they move. Fortunately, there is nothing that Megan and I think is worth that kind of trouble and cost.
Well, until later... I suppose I should go and begin that final list of things to do. No more procrastination, we've got a plane to catch!

Advertisement



17th November 2008

Hi John. You are right in assuming most of the companies are in Heredia and San Jose, although I think more in San Jose. Some school's have classes right in their company but other's like mine send you out into the world to teach, like an out-sourced contractor. I've heard that the training program in Samara is really good and if you're looking for companies to apply to once you are fully trained, IESA is the school that I am the Academic Director of and if timing works out possibly we could work something out! At the very least... I'm around if you need recommendations on safe neighborhoods, things to bring along with you (noticed your dilema on your blog). I will say that I wouldn't worry too much about bringing household items from home because a majority of the places you rent come fully furnished. Let me know how I can help! Krista

Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0331s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb