Settled in Samara


Advertisement
Published: June 21st 2005
Edit Blog Post

Hola mis amigos! I am so happy to have heard from many of my friends from Texas! Now it's time for me to update you all on my first few days in Costa Rica.

I arrived on Saturday in Liberia, which has an nice little primative open-air airport. The landing strip was short, which called for a very abrupt stop. And I've never stood in line for customs in 95 degree heat!

I headed to Tamarindo for the night were I immersed myself in solitude. My first friends were two iguanas who greeted me on the beach. I did a little exploring in the town of Playa Langosta, and then returned to my B & B. I was the only guest at Casa Doble and since it rained that evening, I just bought myself a few Schmirnoffs, skipped dinner, settled in with a good book, and went to sleep as the storm blew in. I've never been more relaxed in my life!!! Got up the next morning, did a little coastal exploring, and jogged to Tamarindo. Found my first Internet cafe, where I gave in to my addiction a bit. Then Valarie, the hostess, made me a WONDERFUL breakfast and I hung out at the zero-edge pool. . .very cool because I just hung there at the edge and looked out over the ocean. Bliss!

My driver to Samara was a major flirt! By the end of the 2-hour trip, he had offered (all en espanol by the way) to massage my back and drink tequila with me. When he pulled over to let me see some monkeys, I was a little nervous that he'd pull away since I'd turned him down so many times!

I arrived in Samara to be greeted by my Tico dad Balto, mom Maricela, and sister Eliz. They have treated me well! I have a great little separate apartment in their garden. I have my own mini fridge, two beds (with foam mattresses that I double up so I don't feel the boards!), and a bathroom. And speaking of potties, you can't flush ANYTHING anywhere, except that which your body produces, so restrooms have these little trashcans beside the commodes. . . It's quite a habit to break so think of me the next time you flush! :-) And of course, I'm adjusting nicely to the no air conditioning thing. (Sharon, you'd just die!) The lack of hot water in the shower isn't such a bad thing considering the heat and humidity extremes. I start sweating before I leave the shower and it takes 3 days for the swimsuit to dry but it's tolerable.

The garden has lots of "friends": a turtle, which I've yet to see, two rabbits, four parrots, four dogs, and lots and lots and lots of unidentified insects (Cathy, you should see the size of some of these things!). I have to spray my sheets with Off each night to ward off visitors. (I'm covered with bits nonetheless). And yesterday morning, I started getting a little nervous when I saw a spider with a body the size of a golfball crawl across my floor. Then I was relieved--it was only a CRAB who must have gotten a little lost. Good think I'm not squimish!

The beach in Samara is about a block away. I cut through a crazy little wooded path, through someone's backyard, and I'm right there. It is a beautiful crescent stretch of beach about 3 miles long fringed with palms. I ran there this morning. Sun comes up (and parrots start talking) about 5:30 and it gets dark at 6pm (crazy!). It's rained parts of every day so my PTH schedule is all out of whach but rest assured, I'm getting an hour or two of sun every day. (They sell a Coppertone #2 here--whoo-hoo!!). My school is right on the beach too, down about 3 blocks, so walking to school is a walk on the beach twice a day--oh darn!

Everything in Samara is dirt cheap by US standards! Lunch today (sandwich, smoothie, and fries) was under $3. Internet use is $2/hour. Boogie boards are 2/hour.

So far, so good as far as food goes. Breakfasts and dinners are provided by the host family. . .and boy is Maricela an amazing cook! Lots of fresh fruit, healthy veggies, and simple but yummy meals. Just wish she didn't give me so much on the plate. I'm too ashamed to have to waste anything. She even squeezes oranges for fresh juice! For lunch today, I had an amazing papaya smoothie-delicioso!

My classes are challenging! They put me in an intermediate level class (what were they thinking?!?!) so I'm learning lots of new grammar and there's not a lick of English spoken the entire 4-hour class. I have lots of homework each night too. My classes alternate am and pm. Monday was 8-12, Tuesday 1:15-5:15, etc. . . Although they swear there are students of all ages, I'm feeling old. I've met some very nice people who I can hang on the beach with and eat lunch with. . .but I'm probably close to their mothers' ages!!! One friend, Erica (who's 24 I think) has been here longer and lives right across the street from me. . .so she's sort of taken me in.

I have several excursions on the horizon. Tonight, a few of us are going to a national park about 45 minutes away where we'll sit on the beach and wait for giant leather-back turtles to come in and nest. It's a full moon so it should be a spectacular sight. Tomorrow, we plan to go out in a boat of some sort to do snorkeling, dolfin-watching, and sport fishing (swordfish!) This weekend, several of us are going to Monteverde (about 5 hours away) and La Fortuna. We'll do the zipline through the canopy of the rain forest and visit the thermal springs while we watch for Arenal Volcano to erupt (hope it's a clear night!) Should be quite an adventure so wish me luck! Will post more adventure tales as they happen. Will try to figure out how to put up pics too.



Advertisement



21st June 2005

WOW!!!
What an adventure...sounds wonderful!
23rd June 2005

I hope this works!
Hey--It's me on the internet!!!! Sounds like your having fun except for the midnight turtle expedition! I'd stick to the 2-footed transportation variety. Safety Town is over and I can sleep late and learn my lines. Graydon is taking another round of swimming lessons. Love you--sharon
23rd June 2005

I envy you
I am living vicariously through you Jolyn. It sounds exciting and wonderful. I'm keeping you in my prayers.
26th June 2005

This is such a great adventure, Jolynn! I'm really proud of you for doing this all on your own. Keep the great stories comin', because my adventures include laundry and floating in the pool...not nearly as exciting!

Tot: 0.133s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0715s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb