Day 2 (May 13) - Settling in


Advertisement
Published: May 20th 2018
Edit Blog Post

2-12-12-1

Boat billed flycatcher
Birds seen today: boat-billed flycatcher, scarlet macaws, pelican, turquoise-browed motmot

After a sleep-in, I unpacked into my new home. Saw my first bird of the day out my bedroom window, a boat-billed flycatcher (followed by some local chickens!). After a little stroll through the village, I decided to take a drive and started out at Punta Islita’s beach, where I waded in the Pacific. The heat is much more bearable when you have the water and the wind coming off the waves! The coast here is very dramatic - more mountainous and less beachy. As I walked along the beach, I heard the familiar parrot screech and looked up to see 3 scarlet macaws in the treetops. Loud rumbling thunder brought in some heavy rains, so I continued my drive back over the roads from the night before to see the sights I missed in the dark. I stumbled upon Playa Carrillo, a huge stretch of beach with gigantic crashing waves, that I will need to come back to! I continued in the pouring rain to Samara, where I found another market to grab a few more things. Headed back while it was still light, spotted a motmot on the
2-22-22-2

The beach at Punta Islita
way, and spent an easy evening in my place. Ready to get started tomorrow at Ara Project, touring the site and seeing what’s happening there!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

2-32-3
2-3

The beach at Punta Islita
2-42-4
2-4

Scarlet macaws at the beach


Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0465s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb