From Broadway, to Jungle Camp via Santa Monica


Advertisement
Published: March 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

First of all greetings or Ola de Costa Rica

Gosh the theme of this blog entry as you will work out is “diversity”. I could not have been to more diverse places in January if I tried!

So this entry starts in my absolutely favourite city in the whole world NYC. I have to say this place gets better and better every time I visit it. I think I have now clocked three visits in the last seven years and feel like there is so much more to see!

I did arrive though to NYC tired and emotional after a 24 hour trip which took me through four countries in one day. I was pleased though to get in a cab and for the first time since I left Australia being in a country that spoke my language (these things are important you know!!!). It was amazing, people could understand me and I could understand them wow!

The first person to greet me in NYC was Mike the friendly doorman at Laura’s apartment block, and every day I left the building he remembered my name and asked me how I was going every morning. I was very blessed to be offered a place to crash by Laura one of my mates from Pepsi Co. Her pad was ideally located to explore my favourite city(yes I say again!).

The next day I got up at a reasonable hour, went exploring Central Park with Laura en route to the MET which is one of NYC’s famous museums which happened to have an impressionist exhibition on, featuring many of my favourite artists including Van Gough, Cézanne (heard a lot about him when I was in Aix en Provence with Andy as he was born there), Renoir and Monet.

Once we were done at the MET we strolled back through the Central Park, enjoyed the sunset, spent some time at the angel fountain and marvelled at the hot guys and gals doing salsa on roller skates all in a fresh winters day of 22 degrees celsius (yes global warming is happening).

That night I caught up with a mate of mine Chris who I had met on my last jaunt to NYC last year. We had a great dinner down in the Village or somewhere in the lower east side on about 1st Street, followed with a couple of bevvies at some bars in the East Village. I think the mirror I broke in Austria on New Years day brought bad luck to Chris as he broke his shoulder the following day (ouch!).

The next day Laura and I went to a Broadway show (my first) called the 52nd Annual Putnam Country Spelling Bee. It was ok, interesting and all of that but I still cant quite get over adults dressing up as kids and singing and acting their way through a spelling bee in the sticks if you get what I mean!

After the show we ended up going downtown to the Meat Packing district for an early dinner of Mexican and a margarita or two (yippee more food variety) (5pm….) no where in Europe is a restaurant open at that time… (oh yes I am back in an English speaking country where people eat early…that’s right!!).

The next day I grabbed my umbrella (as the temperature had dropped) and it was drizzling and then hit the streets! I started out by exploring Bryant Park, visiting the New York Photography School, and borders book store. I did manage to get myself on film for a pilot TV show for HBO as two guys were in Bryant Park working on it and wanted an opinion about something.

Afterwards I stood mesmerised and not knowing quite where to look in Times Square, taking a myriad of pics and whilst in the mood (and also as it was raining) I went to a movie (yes another thing I can do in an English speaking country!!) called Blood Diamonds, which I really enjoyed, I have to say I love seeing movies on my own.

Afterwards I hit the Starbucks for my favourite new discovery called a Cinnamon Dolce Latte (which is as fattening and delicious as it sounds). I did feel a bit France sick though when I saw my favourite French mini cakes called Madelines. I mopped up a tear and went on my way with my fattening latte full of cream and full fat milk!!, and with no Madeline (to many calories for one day I thought, particularly after buying a small premium Hershey bar at the store in Times Square)…

That night after walking around Broadway for ages, and taking pictures I headed back home, cooked Nona’s risotto for Laura and just chilled out, feeling like I needed one more day in NYC to fit in all the things I wanted to do this time around, disappointingly thinking I wish my flight was not the next afternoon.

Anyways the next morning I set out early with my full fat New York Bagel stuffed with mounds of cream cheese bought on route to the Metro bound for down town(I felt like a real New Yorker in peak hour).

My mission was to go to see Ellis and Stanton Islands to see the statue of Liberty etc. I was running a bit behind schedule as I got a bit confused on the NYC metro and ended up sitting for about 30 minutes on the wrong platform…grr…well I am on holidays I guess I remembered thinking!

I have to say I really enjoyed going to Ellis Island, I took stacks of photos of the statue, walked around the Island and learnt a couple of interesting facts about the structure. Firstly it was a gift from France (more emotions!!) and that the same guy Eiffel that designed the Eiffel tower had designed the Statue of Liberty. She is truly a beautiful sight but I have to say you have to go through some serious security to get on the boat and also when you reach the Island which is sad but necessary. Have to say though the air machine a new type of security machine is a piece of work, and watching people’s hair raised as they go through was a laugh.

Unfortunately I had to give Stanton Island a miss as I was running a bit late and new I had to be back to the house by three and I still wanted to explore Wall Street, see what Ground Zero looked like one year on.

After I got of the Ellis Island ferry I took a quick walk through Wall Street (another Dolce Cinnamon Late another kilogram of weight, I really must stop doing this!). I have to say I found Wall Street fascinating, apart from the fact that I thought “Charge” the bull was actually on Wall Street (he is not). I did find it interesting though that at one end of Wall Street had a beautiful old church on it so all the rich guys working on Wall Street can do their penance or at least think about it when walking to and from the fab soup and sandwich bars lined nearby, or perhaps contemplating their next BMW purchase from the conveniently located BMW Manhattan right underneath one of the bank buildings smack bang in the middle of Wall Street. Man those guys at BMW must be busy during bonus time I thought.

I continued on my walking tour and quickly visited Ground Zero, the focus a year on from when I last visited was a disturbing photographic exhibition that showed all the heroes, casualties and people effected by 9/11, as a budding amateur photographer I thought great images but wish I did not see some of them. After seeing the images and then seeing the sign that said, September 11, lets not forget but time to move on, I walked away with a tear.

Anyways it was time to rush back to Laura’s house feeling a bit down after seeing such diversity in NYC to get my bags and get to the airport. I was still feeling like I needed another day to do what I wanted to do in NYC but was resigned to the fact that I had to be happy with the time that I had and get ready to go.

I did do a quick check of my ticket after I had packed my backpack for what seemed like a 1000 times in January already and realised, “Shit, was I supposed to fly yesterday?” “What is the date today”? and other various superlatives before I realised that I was due to fly to LA a day earlier and I had just not turned up for my flight…oh dear! A quick phone call to Qantas (thank god I was flying Qantas….) and they said no problem we will rebook you to fly tomorrow. Yipee I thought another day in NYC! And believe it or not Qantas did not charge me a cent!!! (lucky I am still a platinum flyer I was thinking!).

So I did not waste any time as soon as I found out I was back down to Broadway to grab some last minute cheap tickets to another show… all the time thinking shit what do I want to see? Anyways I decided to see Chicago, good show, but a let down after seeing on the program that Huey Luis was not performing that night, but some really other equally as talented people fitted the bill really well. I did feel a bit like I was in the Chicago underworld back in the day when the show was set.

The next day I woke up early again a bagel and another Dolce Late and I was off, I really wanted to explore Greenwich Village, SoHo, Nolita, Chnia Town etc. I started off people watching (and well dog watching too) in Washington Park and moseyed on down through some of the quaint streets in SoHo (mental note: nothing opens before 11am), on through the Village, and China Town.

It is really interesting to see all of those diverse communities all so close together what a cultural melting pot. It was cool art galleries in SoHo and the China Town fake markets all between a square mile. I did keep thinking in China Town when I was walking Canal Street how the hell does any of these vendors make money, they all sell the same stuff and there is 100’s of them. I worked out it was position, position, position and when I say that just before you walk down into the station a little Chinese lady pops up from knowhere shouting “bag”…..

I continued back uptown, stopping by the Rock, a quick stop in Saks for a make up appointment at the Chanel counter (was I not going to the jungle???!!), I decided on the spot I wanted someone to teach me how to do make up properly. I saw a great lady who did a great job, gave me heaps of tips and yeah I bought some foundation off her for her efforts….walking back to Laura’s house I was feeling satisfied with what I had seen and experienced in NYC and ready to take on LA.

I have to say I had a fab transport experience on my way to the airport, I decided as I was now a backpacker that instead of jumping in a cab that I could save $45- (which is about three weeks budget here in Costa Rica) by taking the train. Back pack on and heavy I was off (all the time thinking it was good training for Costa Rica). I did meet a lovely guy on the train who had done “some time” and was going out to near the airport to meet one of his mates who was ”doing time”. His IPOD was broken and we chatted about that for a bit, he showed me photos of his Girlfriend, daughter, cousin etc, and even helped me with my stuff. Bless count going up!!!

I was so stoked to be flying Qantas, settled into my seat (again three to myself, sleep yay!). I was in a good mood, watched a fab movie called A Good Year which was shot in Provence (gosh it made me laugh so hard about the time I spent in Provence with Andy and the French ways of doing things) in the process I downed about five little bottles of champagne and then feel fabulously to sleep. Nadine was waiting for me in LA when I arrived and have to say it was so nice to see my first Aussie friend since August, I jumped in her Audi TT (long story) and we sped off through the streets of “Casual California”, to finally make it to Santa Monica Blvd (well just off there) for my first nights sleep in LA).

The next day I headed with Nadine to Paramount Studios, which was really fun. Tourism Australia were kicking off G’day USA week in LA and she was invited to the Prescilla themed night event at Paramount.

I had an awesome time there, whilst Nadine was in a meeting before, I poked around Paramount Studios, catching some sights, movie scenes (all unguided mind you…and against the rules). I did hit the big jackpot when I was waiting in one of the stage areas at about 6pm for Nadine to finish her meeting and in walked Phillip Seymour Hoffman to get his make up taken off. Wow I thought…Then in walked about another 50 extras, the Production Manager, Director etc of this movie, which will be released, soon called Charlie Wilson’s War . Man how good I thought, I did talk to the Production Manager a bit and asked her the goss on Julia Roberts and apparently she is a standoffish nightmare. All in all a fun and completely unexpected experience!

We did kick on a bit, went to the event which was themed a Prescilla night, we donned our pink feather boa’s watched the movie in a huge theatre and then were treated to a sneak peak at Prescilla the stage show as TA had flown out a few of the actors and they danced away for a bit. I was really stoked when one of them came up to me and asked me if I was Toni Collette (not the first time but to be asked by the head drag queen I was stoked). We went home with full goody bags and smiles on our dials.

The next few days in LA I was the official aid to Nadine on her hunt to find the perfect wedding dress, and interesting and fun experience. I did see some brides of all shapes and sizes particularly one very large lady who cried when she found the perfect dress. I think I nearly cried too..

I did manage to sneak in a visit down to Oceanside area to see my sailing mates. Thanks Terri for being such a good friend picking me up in Santa Monica and taking me down. We had a great night down there watched the New England (? Forget what they were called) and the San Diego Chargers in one of the Super Bowl playoff games. Have to say this game is a bit odd and goes for far to long. But in saying that I had a fab time with Jacques (aka Shagga II), Annie, and her man Laslo, Ruth, Jim and Terri, we drank far to much Oyster Bay wine (the Americans love NZ wine) and had a really neat BBQ, watched all of my picture DVD’s before we crashed so hard to sleep that apparently I was mid conversation with Kaz back in AUS and I fell asleep (sorry Kaz).

The next day I had my first full tour of Hobie Cat and caught up with some familiar faces there. I saw Kayak production, assembly, lots of moulds, bits, masts, sail making etc, metal shop etc. Jacques was such a good tour guide and so passionate and I have to say I was pretty impressed with the whole set up

Quick goodbyes after a bit to eat and It was time to hit the outdoor stores with Terri for my last minute kit purchases for Costa Rica and then upwards back to LA.

Nadine and I stayed in for Sydney’s best pasta (yippee we have not had that for about five years) had a bit of vino whilst watching the Film Awards on TV.

The following day and my last in civilisation for a bit I ran around Santa Monica on Nadine’s bike took in the beach etc, did a whole bunch of errands (had another dolce latte, gosh I have to leave America before I am the side of a house!!), got my computer fixed, sent a big box of stuff home, some other bits and bobs and I think I was ready to get on the plane to Costa Rica….well physically anyways.

Nadine asked me what I wanted to do on my last night and I wanted to head out to Asian (of course what else..) we had some fairly average Japanese, packed the backpack again and then it was time to fly to the land of the butterfly, toucan, rainforest whatever on the aptly named TACA airlines. I have to say I don’t think I was ready emotionally to head to Costa Rica but I was on the way!

I did arrive in Costa Rica after a 5-hour flight slightly tired and emotional but at least Nina was picking me up at the airport. We started our day by having a big breakfast at Denny’s (yes they have Denny’s in Costa Rica) before heading back out to the airport to pick up another staffer Amanda our Administrator before taking the long road well only 1.5 hours from San Jose to Turrialba my new home for three months - Raleigh Field base in which is situated smack bang in the middle of Catie land (refer below, just outside of Turrialba). I was just reading the lonely planet and this is what is says about the town of Turrialba so to tease you even more here goes.

“Turrialba is a low key agricultural town that is renowned for its mountain air, strong coffee and Central America’s best white-water, it is also situated in the wake of the undertouristed Vulcan Turrialba and close to the country’s most important cultural site, Guayabo. About 4kms east of Turrialba and known throughout Costa Rica by its acronym of Catie, Centro Agronomico Tropical de Investigacion y Ensenanza is comprised of about 1000 hectares dedicated to tropical agricultural research and education. Agronomists from all over the world recognise this as one of the most important agricultural stations in the tropics”

I did do the drive again a couple of days later back to San Jose to meet with Julian our Country Director and I can tell you this place is paradise, on the 1.5 hour bus ride from here to San Jose, you pass through fields of sugar cane, coffee (anyone know what a coffee plant looks like), fields and fields covered with ornamental flowers, rainforests, and rivers. My recommendation to anyone with a bit of money lying around…buy land here…and fast it is going up in value. So many American Tourists, it is the new Mexico.

I write this sitting at my desk overlooking the 3500 metre Vulcan Turrialba (meaning, Torre Alba - White Tower out the window). I have been here at field base for close on two weeks and I have had so many wonderful experiences it is so hard to capture them but hey I will try.

The first week I arrived we were here with the Advance staff group, which included all of the staff in field base roles including the Logistics Team, Accountants, Medics, and other people that run the whole expedition. We did lots of familiarising with our jobs, getting to know each other, cooking, a bit of swimming and lots of running around. For me it was writing lots of
Raleigh Staff TeamRaleigh Staff TeamRaleigh Staff Team

Back Left on the Landrover
briefs for the other photographer joining me on the expedition, briefs for participants, staff, and meeting with our Country Head to work out PR strategy, magazine, and other ways how we will communicate and generate PR for Raleigh in Costa Rica.

The last week has been a bit like boot camp - Raleigh style, the other 25 odd Project Managers turned up five days ago and as a collective group we did training on everything imaginable including, how to set up a long wave radio(yh I know how to do that), policing swimming tests, the Raleigh Rules, Project Briefings, CASEVAC’s, learning the phonetic alphabet Spanish, how to set up an army tent, how to cut twine without a knife (Timmy and Cam you would like this one!!), how to cook for 20 people (yes everyone had a poor mans version of Nona’s risotto).

We just put our theory into practice in a two day jungle camp where we had to do emergency evacuations (well I watched and took photos), set up jungle beds called “bashas” which I have to say are the most awesome things to construct (rewarding after two hours work) and fabulously comfortable to sleep on in the middle of the rainforest with a mosquito net overhead (best nights sleep yet), the safe way to cross rivers (watched that too as was taking photos), carry packs for ++km’s (watched that too - my foot still not 100% so no risks there), how to cook yummy bean feast on “trangers”, and found out what it tastes like to have sugarless porridge and tea at 5am the following morning whilst taking down those masterpieces that took two hours to build the afternoon before……and these are only the “hard skills” as Raleigh calls it, soft skills are still to come. Phew….

So to give you the wrap there is 35 staff here now at field base sleeping in army tents or our field base house, mostly between the ages of 25-35 all ready for the experience of a lifetime. All are here from various walks of life, mostly the UK, me, a South African and one German. We are getting ready for the arrival of the 120 or so participants, which arrive, in the 7th of February. As I write this the Project Managers are heading out of base for their 5 day planning visits to their project sites where they will suss out all of their project details and return back to base, presenting a report about their project reccy visit to the boss!! (phew for them)..

When these guys get back we have another few days of induction - yes those soft skills, a day off - white water rafting, some more training and then all have our happy faces out pending the arrival of the Participants. We then will have a further weeks training where we will deliver the same training program we all did as staff to the Participant and then wave everyone goodbye for the first Phase on the 14th of February for three weeks.

So as I think back I have to say I have had such a busy time here and have been a bit sleep deprived but feeling really positive and excited about the Programme and also Raleigh International in general. We get so much amazing training and life skills that it is worth every cent that I have fundraised from my sponsors and also money out of my own pocket and the time I have taken out to do this.

The people are great, I have time to smell the roses, notice things, have great conversations, feel like I am working hard for the development of our young people, and planning all of our communications strategies etc, I have had time to take lots of good photos (thanks Terri for the amazing lens - it is making a difference already), doing some great design work, cooking, learning to control stress so much better than ever before (believe it, it is full on out here!!).

Also going through those up and down days where you have extreme highs and those lows and when you just don’t feel like getting up at six am again after working until midnight the night before is all part of the learning experience about yourself!!

I will finish off with something that was written by the previous girl in my role that I keep close to my thought. “You will run off adrenaline for most of the 3 months and sleep for a week when you are finished”.

So we will see.

Hasta Luego!

Bella xx

PS Guys, I would love to receive mail, post cards even a letter. I do have an address and getting mail of any type would be so uplifting and for those that keep me updated with your updates, emails etc I do love receiving them.

Bella Zanesco
Raleigh International
Apartado Postal 17
Codigo 7170
CATIE
Costa Rica




Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 25


Advertisement



14th March 2007

Golly Gosh
Hey babe Good to see you remembering us over here in AUS! I am definitely living vicariously through you at the moment - my life is the humdrum of limited finances and restrictions of work and uni and horse riding... lucky I am loving it. Into the class room soon enough... in a couple of weeks... when I get time to breath i'll write you a proper email! Until then enjoy your travels (as if you wouldn't)! Love Jen

Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 12; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0595s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb