Arenal Volcano / Volcano Lodge / La Fortuna


Advertisement
Published: May 30th 2006
Edit Blog Post

CountrysideCountrysideCountryside

going down from cloud forest to Lake Arenal; coffee plantation
Today we had another marathon ride on Mr. Toad's Wild Ride going down the mountain toward the Arenal volano. I thought the road a little worse, but the countryside much prettier. Coffee growing area and we passed many pretty coffee plantations. Very cool and lush. I think this was the prettiest part of the trip, and Omar's informative, knowledgeable commentary made the time pass so quickly. We always took small breaks at roadside cafes for a coffee and pee. Always very friendly clean places. We stopped for lunch in Arenal but the place was too busy so we had to eat in the pizza parlor upstairs though we ate off the downstairs menu. Omar got a call during lunch then he asked me if I left a bag at the lodge in Monteverde. I said no, but in fact one of my bags did not make it into the van because I thought the guy at the desk was going to put it out to be loaded, but he did not. All my clothes were in the bag so I had only what I had on for two days. My bag came along to La Fortuna in the afternoon of the
El DosEl DosEl Dos

Cafe where we stopped in a town called El Dos; they make the coffee by a drip method directly into the cup; delicious!
next day.

We got to our hotel at the volcano, Volcano Lodge (you can see photos and an accurate description on CRE's website). The Lodge grounds are very pretty and have elaborate manicured gardens. The rooms were good and the housekeepers are very good at making swans and other things with the clean towels; they left me orchids and small red flowers my second day. We made a trip into La Fortuna which is a sort of strange kitschy tourist town and the place also where the locals live and do their business. We had dinner at the restaurant at the front of the lodge with a little view of the volcano. It was raining but we could see a little lava flow.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Arenal volcanoArenal volcano
Arenal volcano

The steam at the top is from the lava flowing out
Outside my roomOutside my room
Outside my room

facing the volcano
Volcano LodgeVolcano Lodge
Volcano Lodge

This building was where are rooms are in full view of the volcano, here the top is obscured by clouds


31st May 2006

MARVEY
Donna - what a wonderful thing to be able to view the world thru your eyes. Thank you SO much for sharing; I hope your trip was as good as mine!! hehe

Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0458s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb