Volcán Arenal


Advertisement
Published: May 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

One Saturday morning, my host-father knocked on my door and said we were going to a volcano, so I grabbed my camera and set on out. The drive was an hour or two along the mountain side (ticos are insane drivers!) and it wasn't incredibly comfortable sitting in the small cab of their Toyota pickup, but I'm pretty happy with the photos I managed to take.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Volcán Arenal (Arenal Volcano)Volcán Arenal (Arenal Volcano)
Volcán Arenal (Arenal Volcano)

Looks like a mountain doesn't it? Well, most volcanoes do...
Pizote (White-nosed Coati)Pizote (White-nosed Coati)
Pizote (White-nosed Coati)

We saw this guy on the side of the road while driving, so we stopped and started feeding it chips!
Gray-necked Wood RailGray-necked Wood Rail
Gray-necked Wood Rail

Thanks to my mommy, I know the name! Thanks Mom! This guy was no more than 10 feet from me while we were at a friend of my host-parents.
Black VultureBlack Vulture
Black Vulture

I don't know what else it could be!
FoggyFoggy
Foggy

Due mostly to the clouds at the altitude at which we were driving.
BridgeBridge
Bridge

Not a lot to say, I mean, it's just a bridge...
Under the bridgeUnder the bridge
Under the bridge

Yup... it's a river... very common under bridges...
Sissy CabinSissy Cabin
Sissy Cabin

You gotta be kidding me!
Volcano ahoy!Volcano ahoy!
Volcano ahoy!

At least we knew we were going in the right direction!
Volcano LodgeVolcano Lodge
Volcano Lodge

A lot of tourism around the "Earth pimple" (gross I know, I just came up with it like 5 seconds ago).
FrijolesFrijoles
Frijoles

Yes, ladies and gents, black beans in their natural habitat!
RojoRojo
Rojo

Me love the flowers! ...wish I knew what they were called...
Palm backyardPalm backyard
Palm backyard

That's right... this is someone's backyard!
Foggy againFoggy again
Foggy again

And yes, it was foggy on the drive back home as well.


5th April 2006

Wow!!
That's it! Just Wow!!! P.S. Love YOUR comments;...I'll find that bird's name for you, somehow! P.P.S. (?) (I send you lots of love)
6th April 2006

Mystery bird
Hola, Colin, That bird is called a gray-necked wood rail! Send more pictures!!!! (at your convenience.......) Love you, Mom
7th April 2006

Arenal
We were lucky; out of four days there, the mountain was clear three days. I understand the summit is rarely visible. Your pictures are great!

Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0614s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb