Week 5 in Costa Rica!


Advertisement
Published: October 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Sloth!Sloth!Sloth!

There was a sloth that was really close to the ground so Lauren and I got a picture with it!
Hey Eveyone! Hope the beginning of October is treating everyone great! Im sure the weather is starting to tun colder and the leaves are beginning to fall, but here I am in the middle of the Rainy Season aka winter! Basically that means that everyday its going to rain! It should start getting warmer and no rain in the middle to end of November and then December, January and February are goregous months! Anyways, tomorrow is Friday already and that means that I am half way done with my schooling at the Instiute now. I am studying at ICLC for 10 weeks and then doing a volunteer project for 4 weeks at a school. I am really excited to be helping out at the school! Tomorrow at school, we are making food! We always have our exams on Thursdays and then on Fridays its bascially more of a free day!

This weekend, I decided not to travel anywhere major, but on Saturday I am taking day trip to Jaco beach! It is only 2.5 hours away and hopefully it will be sunny and hot! Otherwise I am looking foward to a relaxing weekend and spend some time with my family
The Sloth again!The Sloth again!The Sloth again!

We were so close to the sloth!!
as well.

Also I have a few more pictures from last weekend at Puerto Viejo! We saw a sloth in a tree so I got a picture of it!

In my month time here, I have noticed a few very interesting very different cultural aspects that I think you will find interesting!

-Women and Men wear their wedding rings on the Right hand
-My host moms wedding for example was a Saturday morning at around 9am and only about half of people have wedding receptions
-Houses dont have door bells and typically front doors are always left open, for air flow, because no one really needs or has air conditioning or furnaces!
-Speed limits as well as any road signs are really optional and people drive crazy here and pedestrians really do not have the rite of way!
-Dates are written with the Day first ( for example: 02-10-2008)


Thanks for reading and I will post more pictures later! Next weekend I have a Global Nature Retreat with my professor here and all of the North Central Students! Im looking foward to it!

Adios!
Courtney 😊

Advertisement



Tot: 0.164s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.1159s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb