Diving The Rhone


Advertisement
Published: February 20th 2012
Edit Blog Post

In the afternoon we dove The Rhone known as the best wreck in the Caribbean. The wreck is a steamer located at the NW Point of Salt Island. The Rhone was declared the first Marine National Park in the Virgin Islands. It was a short dive but I saw a few yellow head jaw fish and smaller colorful fish but very shy. I also found patches of Sergeant Mayor eggs and just took a few close ups to the eggs but the current pickup as we got deeper and it was surge in the shallows. I wish I could take a photo with the fish fanning its eggs maybe if I find them in a better spot.

I saw tons of beautiful purple tunicates that couldn't resist. My new project is to try to get black background behind them. 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



7th March 2012

I spent 7 years diving this wreck when I lived on Tortola and worked for a couple of the local dive centers. Your photos are amazine, I paricularly like the one of the Sergeant Major eggs. Great work!
7th April 2012

Thanxxxxxxxxxx and I wish I could get back to the Rhone to find that sergeant mayor fanning its eggs. :)

Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0458s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb