Jungle Fever


Advertisement
Published: March 26th 2013
Edit Blog Post

IMG_0305IMG_0305IMG_0305

Consulting with the doc
Well, I am finally home sweet home but thought I'd share one more post of my last week in Belize-mostly to share my last round of pictures. I was very sad to say good bye, but I plan on going back sooner rather than later and will forever be grateful for the opportunity. If I took nothing else from my trip, I have realized that I have much more to learn about medicine and how a person's culture impacts their health and well-being. I can't wait to have another chance to immerse myself in another equally unique environment.

I was lucky to be able to spend a morning in the prenatal clinic this week. I haven’t had much prenatal experience at home so it was really helpful. The nurses here do the routine prenatal visits and I got to find the babies' heart tones! The same afternoon we went to the Red Cross in Punta Gorda to talk to elderly patients. The "HOPE: Helping Older People Equally" Program here is one that is run by the Pallottine Sisters (a group of nuns that have been active in Belize for 100 years) and our clinic. The program helps provide for the
IMG_0316IMG_0316IMG_0316

The best mojito on the planet. (Thought Betsy, Mike and Judd would appreciate this)
patients not covered by the Ministry of Health. The patients were bused in on the only handicap accessible bus in Belize. We took their blood pressures and blood sugars and gave them a lecture on chronic disease and medication compliance. One of the patients stole the show with frequent interjections about how and why they should all take their medications. Nothing better than hearing it from your peers!

We tried to fit as much as we possibly could into our last week. Tuesday night we went to dinner at Bel Campo Resort & Lodge, a place that won traveler’s choice for 2013. It is a resort/farm located on the river in the middle of the jungle. It was breathtaking. We got a little tour of the spa, the rooms and the grounds. My favorite part was the huuuuge shower with a window facing the jungle! We got to sit down to a fancy family style meal prepared from ingredients grown or raised on the farm. The farm-to-table mentality meant it was fresh and delicious food. Interestingly, the husband of the pharmacist here was on Master Chef (season 2 if anyone happens to watch that) and his whole family is
IMG_0321IMG_0321IMG_0321

The river going through the jungle
passionate about cooking and the farm to table experience so it was kind of neat to hear about it.

I personally spent as many minutes as I could by the ocean. We have (had) our favorite pier that is directly across the street from Waluco’s, a bar that we have grown to appreciate 😊 The owner knows our names and invited drummers to his restaurant Thursday for our very own going away party (which we threw for ourselves). One of the pharm students took it upon herself to invite as many local acquaintances as possible, including the ambulance driver and our tour guide. After prenatal clinic the other day I was walking through town in my scrubs trying to get to the café with internet and I passed several people we know who stopped to say hello or at least wave. It is funny how comfortable you can feel in a place you’ve only been for four weeks. Not sure if it’s because people are more welcoming here or if I am more open to it as a traveler. We even were invited to a bar-b-q at a local friend's home-we had a meal of fresh conch and king
IMG_0325IMG_0325IMG_0325

Anna, Bethany, Kerry and I on the pontoon (we didn't actually get a ride, unfortunately)
mackerel that he dove for that very morning. He even showed us how to prepare/grill the fish!

We spent our last weekend in Placencia, a very touristy beach spot. We spent the days in the sun and challenged a group of locals to a game of beach volleyball. We danced to Punta Rock, drank coconut rum and pineapple juice and ate barracuda. It was a perfect ending to a wonderful trip. I can't wait to return!


Additional photos below
Photos: 28, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

IMG_0328IMG_0328
IMG_0328

Just me. Senior pic style
IMG_0346IMG_0346
IMG_0346

Artistic of me, yes?
IMG_0351IMG_0351
IMG_0351

Anna, Bethany and I
IMG_0353IMG_0353
IMG_0353

The jungle view from the shower!
IMG_0359IMG_0359
IMG_0359

Our Bel Campo menu: note Cassava fries..mmmm. (Gretchen-cooking challenge. GO!)
IMG_0362IMG_0362
IMG_0362

Sign in front of PG hospital reads: "Visitor Parking" with an arrow pointing across the street to a cemetery. Bodes well for hospital outcomes..
IMG_0364IMG_0364
IMG_0364

The Emergency Room
IMG_0366IMG_0366
IMG_0366

Kids on lunch break in PG
IMG_0372IMG_0372
IMG_0372

Checking blood sugars!
IMG_0374IMG_0374
IMG_0374

Us teaching the elderly at HOPE
IMG_0380IMG_0380
IMG_0380

The patient stealing the show
IMG_0389IMG_0389
IMG_0389

A patient showing us how to exercise at home...
IMG_0390IMG_0390
IMG_0390

by shaking your hips!
IMG_0391IMG_0391
IMG_0391

Thomas and his friend
IMG_0393IMG_0393
IMG_0393

Some of the patients
IMG_0401IMG_0401
IMG_0401

Me with a patient on Mobile Clinic


Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0423s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb