Belize


Advertisement
Published: April 12th 2010
Edit Blog Post

1000-foot Falls1000-foot Falls1000-foot Falls

The 1000-foot Falls, highest waterfall in Central America, in the Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve of Cayo District, Belize.
I don't really think Belize is that great a destination, except of course for diving. But when I was there the diving conditions were not ideal, due to wind and some rain lowering visibility. So I did not even dive, amazing as that is. I went to Placencia, in the south, and stayed 4 nights over Easter weekend. Everyone there was getting drunk and partying, but aside from somewhat pricey snorkeling and diving trips (where you are on a boat for quite some time), there was absolutely nothing to do. I had a nice apartment, with kayaks and a bicycle to use. But the kayaking was not too attractive because of the wind. I did take a couple nice bike rides, coasting with the wind in at least one direction. The people are of African descent here, calling themselves the Garifuna. Friendly enough, just not my style: the men seem to drink most of the day, and the women are mostly fat. With nothing to do, I guess that's what you get: men drinking too much and women eating too much.

But then I traveled to Cayo district, inland to the west, and things got more interesting. I decided to skip the cays, though it was a tough call. Tobacco cay looks very nice, uncrowded and not very expensive. But I decided I need a woman to hang out with if I'm to really enjoy the seaside. The Hummingbird Hwy. from Dangriga to Belmopan goes through some fantastic rolling green scenery. Then Cayo itself, with San Ignacio as its hub, is pretty and with more to do. I rented a truly horrible piece of crap of a motorbike, then took it on some truly horrible roads, making it more of a piece of crap by the time I was finished. I traversed the Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve, to the "1000-foot falls", then to the Rio Frio Cave and Rio On Pools. The falls were beautiful, dropping into what looked like virgin jungle from a plateau into a valley that heads down toward the sea. The cave had a surprisingly large entrance, complete with a small stream flowing out of it. The pools were gorgeous as well, really perfect for swimming, and separated by granite boulders and small falls.

I also stayed in the little town of San Jose Succotz near the Guatemalan border. It was hotter than hell there, so much so that my camera refused to work during the middle of the day. But there was a river flowing through the town, and my place was a cool little "eco-camp" called Tropical Wings (I think). Pretty cheap (for Belize) and nice surroundings. But hot. A very impressive Mayan site lies just across the river (by hand-crank ferry). The main temple is not that huge (I just went to Tikal, so I'm a little spoiled) but sits up on a big hill and has an incredible view across the countryside. The border crossing is easy from there, and I managed to successfully ignore the agent's request for $3 to enter Guatemala. Then on to Tikal.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.161s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0936s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb