Tropical Storm Arthur


Advertisement
Published: June 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Tropical Storm Arthur
1 day before the official start of the hurricane season, and we experienced our first tropical storm. Tropical storm Arthur developed right over the island on the last day of May. Now June 1st is when the official hurricane season starts worldwide. However in Belize, they consider the hurricane season to be Sept and Oct. Last year everyone was surprised to have Dean so early in August.
We experienced this storm as rain all day the first and second day, and no one was anticipating it to increase. However, last night the tropical storm gained some energy. I awoke about 2am to lots of wind, rain, thunder and lightening. After sleeping off and on throughout the night, I awoke to find what the storm had brought in. In my apartment it brought water. Lots of water. Even on the second floor of a concrete hurricane proof building I was flooded. After using all my towels to mop it up, I peeked my head outside to see all the streets and yards flooded as well. I decided to brave it and go to the beach. At some points along my walk there, the water was up to my knees! Many more people were out than I was expecting. And lots of wet cats and dogs. The last few days, many new insect species I had not seen before introduced themselves to me. They must have known before we did what was to come, because they all tried to enter my home. So what I have learned about Tropical Storm Arthur. Winds reached up to 81 miles an hour. Which some say qualifies as a Category 1 Hurricane. I was without power off and on throughout the night, and without water for the first half of the day. I have been used to this since the last couple weeks there have been many power outages and a couple water outages.
Many boats went under last night, and the majority of the day was spent by everyone trying to save as many boats as possible. 2 restaurants that I know of were open, but everything else was closed.
Apparently the storm picked up speed and power over the island and spread as it hit the mainland. The southern part of the country experienced flash floods and mud slides, which unfortunately greatly damaged some villages and lives were lost. I do not have access to TV, or regular internet, so my access to information has been a little bit limited. So now that I have experienced a Tropical Storm, I would say it was very similar to a Minnesota spring storm with strong winds. I think what makes it different is the fact that being close to water gives the storm the potential for more strength and the ability to grow quickly. I am thankful for all my storm experience, winter and otherwise, as I was able to sleep somewhat through the night, and was just fine making it to work today. Which the tourists loved since everything else was closed!
Internet info seems to be very limited right now, but this is one link I found.
http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/24907160/


Advertisement



Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0258s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb