Surf and Turf


Advertisement
Published: January 23rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Just returning from our weekend in the sun, most of us sunburnt to a color resembling that of a boiled lobster. So much for sunscreen... This weekend the lot of us (18 in all) visited San Pedro on the Ambergris Caye. The trek involves a 3 hour bus ride to Belize City and a 1.5 hr water taxi to the Cayes. We arrived on friday to indulge in the last few hours of sun, and treat ourselves to a luxurious dinner. You have to splurge somewhere, and we went budget for our accomodations at Pedro's Inn. I'd say the other major splurge was for snorkeling in the Barrier Reef. Snorkeling was an indescribable experience for me. From the time we stepped onto the water taxi, I kept finding it incredulous that I even had the opportunity to not only be in the Caribbean, but to be visiting the Cayes, and see a coral reef. Coral reefs have always been a wonder to me, something you learn about in elementary school but are lucky to actually have to opportunity to see firsthand. Unfortuntely, I don't have any photos to document this event, but it was breathtaking. I'd say snorkeling was the main event, though lounging on the beach, checking out the local bars, and playing in the rain went in no shortage. Saturday morning, the majority of us hit the beach by 8am, which turned out to be a blessing, since a storm rolled in by noon, bumping our snorkeling plans back to Sunday. What do you do at the beach when it rains you ask? Get ice cream and stroll around town. Fortunately, sunday cleared into a cloudless day, and we spent every second at or in the water, right up until the time came to say goodbye and get back on the water taxi.
On a side note, I just want to thank everyone that's been writing messages and comments, I love hearing from ya'll and the feedback is great!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Nobody loves meNobody loves me
Nobody loves me

Strays were rampant in San Pedro, this is one we seemed to have adopted for the weekend, he showed up everywhere we went.
YArrrr!YArrrr!
YArrrr!

Fun in the sun


25th January 2007

Water, Water, and Water!
We will be right down... Were you are looks just wonderful. I read Patrica's comment, and I agree, what a great way to learn a culture and share your own experiences too. The dog is cute. I bet the reef diving was outrageous. Love, Dad and Martha
26th January 2007

Are you in the picture of fun in the sun? The dog is sweet. Stuart wants to come down and return with all the strays. i find the stray animal is a big issue in most places i have travelled. sad to think its worse than here in most places. we certainly have a lot also.
28th January 2007

the reef
Don't worry Courtney. I'll be there soon to save the reef!

Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0388s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb