Racing at the Garrison


Advertisement
Barbados' flag
Central America Caribbean » Barbados » Bridgetown
December 28th 2011
Published: December 28th 2011
Edit Blog Post

JockeysJockeysJockeys

Some great jockeys come out of Barbados.
I like horse racing. I’m not much of a gambler; I just like to watch the horses run. I can have a good time whether I bet or not, whether I win or not. (But it is more fun when I win.) I’ve seen some fine horses with some outstanding jockeys, but some of my favorite races have been at the Garrison in Barbados.

As its name implies, the Garrison is the former home of the British Garrison in Barbados. The Brits are gone – though the Barbados Defence Force maintains its barracks across the street – and now the old parade grounds are given over to horse racing and rugby. And cannon – the Garrison boasts an impressive outdoor museum with the largest collection of 17th century cannon in the world.

I’ve written about Boxing Day at the Races before, it’s a fun time. And this year, despite the gloomy economy and dodgy weather, high spirits were very much in evidence. There weren’t as many drunken ex-pats at the rugby club bar and fewer over-the-top fashions, but everyone was having a good time nonetheless.

Boxing Day at the races is like a cross between a church picnic,
17th century cannon17th century cannon17th century cannon

Kids turn weapons of war into playground equipment.
family reunion, and county fair. This is very much a family friendly event; there was even a bouncy house for the kids, along with shaved ice and pinwheels. For the adults there were impromptu bars and poker and games of chance. Oh, and horse racing. Some award-winning jockeys in Canada, such as Patrick Husbands and the Walcott brothers, are Bajan, and come home for the winter racing season.

Of the 10 races, I watched eight, bet on four, and won two. The big money winners were Aston Martin in the 5th and Showmethemoney in the 7th. It was a grand day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Impromptu barImpromptu bar
Impromptu bar

The infield at the races is a prime example of entrepreneurial spirit with vard games, pop-up bars, and kids' toys for sale.


28th December 2011

Glad Your Traveling
Hi Karen, I've looked over your Blog and it looks like you are traveling around and having a great time. I'm glad to see that you are enjoying the warm weather. I'm still working. Take care. Keep In Touch!!

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0247s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb