Leaving the US


Advertisement
Published: January 11th 2011
Edit Blog Post

4 am...that's how early I woke up this morning. With two duffel bags just under 50 lbs, I made it out of the Philadelphia airport and 2 1/2 hours later landed in Orlando. After about a 2 hour layover, I arrived in Nassau around 2:45. First off, the weather is incredible here. About high 70's and sunny!!! What a nice change from snow and 30 degree weather. Another weird thing about the Bahamas is that they drive on the opposite side of the road. But not just that, they also have 2 different types of cars. You can choose what side of the car you want the sterring wheel....all I can say is that I'm very confused! I'm staying in a hotel called the Comfort Suites on Paradise Island. I have never been to the Bahamas before and I can honestly say I love everything about it. The scenery and colors are amazing. The people are all very friendly and outgoing. We are not staying in the Atlantis resort, but across the street....which allows us to use their facilities during the day....which is amazing!!! After arriving in our hotel, Charli, my dad and I all explored the Atlantis resort. It is sooo huge that you can stay inside the whole thing for about 2 hours. The architecture and art work used inside the buildings is insane. After taking a picture on King Neptune's throne, we discovered an awesome underground archaeological aquarium (called the dig). For me the best part of it was the "sense of immersion". Literally, you feel like you are underwater with all the fish. Plus, the theme was archaeology so I felt right at home. It seemed like it went on forever. There were sting rays, sharks and jellyfish. The pools and beaches look so great and I can't wait to go explore them tomorrow. Tonight we decided to head into town to eat dinner at some place local. After walking down the main strip we realized that the "Bahamian" food of choice is conch and snapper. So we decided to do as the locals do. We ate at a place called "Twin Brothers". We got a mix of stuff to share. We ate fried snapper, shrimp and conch. This was all accompanied with plantains, rice and beans. We also have these amazing mango-lemonade drinks. But the best part had to be dessert. We had something called "Guava Duff". It is kind of like a sweet bread with guava-shavings in it and a creamy butter sauce poured on it. Basically it was amazing and by the end of the meal we were stuffed. I got to say, I have never eating a conch before but it was really, really, really good! So now were all back at the hotel, basically exhausted and ready to go to sleep. But definitely ready for a fun-filled day tomorrow at Atlantis followed by a night at Senor Frogs. I hear there is good food, music and dancing there...so we’ll see!

Sorry only 3 of my pictures uploaded, but I'll try to upload the rest and some videos tomorrow.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Drinking/Eating Coconut on the BeachDrinking/Eating Coconut on the Beach
Drinking/Eating Coconut on the Beach

A man on the beach was selling coconuts for $5. He cracked them open and you could drink the juice from the inside and then eat the rest of the fruit. We took the rest back to the hotel so we could snack on it today!
Dinner Plate #1Dinner Plate #1
Dinner Plate #1

Fried conch and shrimp. On the side: plantains and a mix of rice and beans
Dinner Plate # 2Dinner Plate # 2
Dinner Plate # 2

Fried snapper with the same sides


Tot: 0.265s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.2108s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb