Bahama Mama!


Advertisement
Published: February 12th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Freeport, Grand Bahama


New pictures: http://brookeroebuck.shutterfly.com/
________________________________________

Bermuda, Bahama, Come my pretty Mama!!

Thaaaaat's right! I'm in the Bahamas! And let me just say, it is PARADISE!!!

Yes, it's wonderful here. There are grocery stores, movie theaters, lines on the road, and white, sandy beaches. It really is pretty awesome. I love it. I've been here for a month to the day now and have enjoyed every moment of it. For the most part, the weather has been warm and beautiful. The people are very friendly and helpful and there's a lot to see and do. Oh, and school, almost forgot about that... yeah, school's fine.

So... what to mention? Wellll, I am now a second year medical student and that means I get to do fun things like dress up and do interviews and exams on patients. That's pretty cool. And no more gross anatomy lab dissecting for me! Yep, I'm all done with that. What else? Jeepy came with me to the Bahamas and she loooves it here. She likes to feel the island wind on her metal, but is not too keen on the salt water residue. She is also enjoying playing around on the left side of the road. I also have another new development - I'm living with someone!! Yep, his name is Tom and he's my boyfriend. Craziness, I know. But I am loving the home cooked meals, the daily back adjustments (he's a chiropractor), and the companionship.

I do want to say that the lizards here like to curl their tails when they run around. That's interesting. And the $50 EC I paid for the conch shell in Dominica was a rip off. Tom found both a conch shell and a live conch in the ocean while he was snorkeling (I was being a pansy and watching from the beach) - free shell AND lunch!! Bah to $50 EC. And I think my career of scuba diving is over. I hear there are a lot of sharks here and well, me and sharks just don't get along.

Things have been very busy here for me these past couple of weeks with getting acquainted to a new place, a new semester, and new life-style. I know this update is kind of short and perhaps not too detailed, but I'm honestly at a loss for what else to write, so I will leave it here and write again when I have a new, fun story.

I hope everyone is well. I miss you all.

xoxo,
Brooke

Advertisement



15th February 2009

Boo. I can't believe I'm stuck in cold New England while you're out there enjoying the ocean! And new BF??? Apparently we haven't caught up in a while! Miss you!
28th February 2009

happy
You sound happy. I am so glad!!!

Tot: 0.132s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 8; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0946s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb