Research in the Bahamas


Advertisement
Bahamas' flag
Central America Caribbean » Bahamas » Exuma
April 13th 2009
Published: April 13th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hey Everyone,
First, if you haven't checked out my new school personal website, go to David's Website

It has been a little bit of time since I last posted on this site but I just thought I would update you (for those of you interested) on my progress and research at the moment. I am in the processes of finishing up my first year up for my PhD. I am still trying to figure out the
main topic for my research but it is getting more defined and I will keep you posted. In the mean time, I have been working really hard.

I had a bit of a break last week when I went on a research cruise with my Basin Analysis class to the Exumas in the Bahamas. It was really one of the most beautiful places I have ever been. We spent a lot of time drilling through the rock to have a better idea of the subsurface structure in order to obtain more information on the timing of various events that led to the formation of that part of the Bahamas. We spend a little more than a week on a research boat where we slept, and had a cook (he made great food). We also took field trips to onto various islands to discuss the geology and we went snorkling a few times.

The majority of the pictures can be seen at these links:

http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=2395112&id=5701930&l=bcbb947e93
http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=2395240&id=5701930&l=18e97a00db
http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=2395269&id=5701930&l=455e7520d8


I will also post a few on here. Hope everyone is doing well.




Additional photos below
Photos: 53, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



14th April 2009

pictures
Beautiful pictures, David. Enjoyed viewing them.

Tot: 0.157s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 54; dbt: 0.1178s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb