Food and Other Fodder...


Advertisement
Aruba's flag
Central America Caribbean » Aruba
August 14th 2008
Published: August 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

It occurs to me as I am actually enjoying my airline food on the flight from Miami to Venice that perhaps I have gotten a bit too used to shiplife. What is probably the worst food produced on this planet, actually seems to be a bit better than what I am used to eating in the staff mess onboard. As I quickly consume soggy rice and what they claim to be “chicken”, licking my fork clean I vow to appreciate everything I can about the next contract (yes! The food!), because when it’s time to re-enter the real world at the end of this year I am not sure if my body can handle it.

My first week aboard the Carnival Freedom has been incredible. Extra work loads aside, I’ve already made an effort to explore the ports and improve my palate.

Just in my first week I found myself wandering down the canals of Venice, sampling the best spaghetti gamberi of my life, or trying the handmade lemon gelato in Messina, Italy. I explored the castle where the Man In The Iron Mask was imprisoned on the beautiful island of Saint Marguerite just a few minutes off the coast of Cannes, France, while enjoying a delicious peach fruit popsicle. I sipped strawberry soup on the beaches of Barcelona, and today I sampled incredible eggplant pizza served with fresh lemonciello. Next cruise we visit Turkey, Greece and Croatia and I am excited for the kabobs and other Mediterranean flavors.

I can already see that this experience is going to be all about the food. Afterall, if I am starting to think that airplane offerings are delicious, I have some serious work to do!





Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



14th August 2008

you
ya rock my world miss you tons simply amazing

Tot: 0.327s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0372s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb