Antigua Whirwind


Advertisement
Published: May 11th 2011
Edit Blog Post

The week in Antigua came and went like a whirlwind in the blink of an eye. We arrived last Friday and anchored in Falmouth harbor. During quarantine, I was aloft with the rest of the ship doing harbor stows on the sails when the arrival of our skiff brought a very familiar person. Looking down, all I saw was a head of silver followed by the flash of the brightest smile I’ve seen in a while. Without boring you with all the gooey details, I instantly lost all concentration on whatever task I was doing (something about putting a gasket on the upper topsail) and quickly ran down the ratlines for a long awaited reunion. It was so great to not only see a familiar face, but for it to be Frank! He managed to hop on the skiff before we were cleared thru customs – I heard from others that were on shore that he was jumping around with anticipation like he had ants in his pants for our arrival. Not long after that and a swim call, I promptly packed a bag and my dirty laundry and with many of the other shipmates plus Frank, took the skiff back to shore.
Shore! With solid ground that doesn’t heave and roll to and for (altho I was since getting my sea legs), fresh vegetables! Fruit smoothies! Ice cold beer! Frank found a little apartment near the yacht club with a balcony overlooking the harbor – knowing me and the experience well, he brought a bunk fan and my favorite dark chocolates. As I’ve mentioned, the rest of the week was a whirlwind and being granted the “hot date pass” by our generous chief mate, I didn’t have to work the one day I was scheduled to work. The classics did not disappoint with the super classy, snazzy dazzy yachts and j-boats and cute little cariacou sloops. There was even a monstrosity of a “square rigged” yacht that was fully automated, looked like a space ship: the Maltese Falcon. We also hit up some of the great beaches they were full-on with their technicolors of blues and soft white sand. There were events in the evening for the classics that gave opportunity for plenty of drink, music and dance.
I also learned of a new rum drink: rum and ting. Ting is a Caribbean juice that appears to be like a grapefruit orangina. And despite not being a mixed drink girl – it is quite tasty and refreshing.
So the week off was great. The visit with Frank was better than I could have hope or expected. Although, his self -proclaimed selfish attempt to get me home sooner than later with a help of another girlfriend and potential job opportunity didn’t work out. Although, this also means that he will be back to visit us at one or two more stops in the Caribbean before we head back to Nova Scotia.
So, now we are back to sea. The calluses are returning to the hands. The feet are toughening up on the rigging. And I’ve also had the opportunity to notice what I have learned so far. The learning curve while crossing the Atlantic seemed continually sharp as there are a limitless number of things to learn sailing a traditionally rigged sailing ship. But after a week on shore and returning (with 2 new crew members and a new doc), I am able to appreciate what I have learned. When orders are called there’s less pause while I’m processing which lines to go to and in which sequence and stowing the royals this morning with Frankie went shockingly well (it also helped that they were dry this time – stowing wet sails is tough!). We also have a fleet of 2 cariacou sloops that have a few of our crew members. One we picked up today for a tow (the water is almost as still as glass), the other we have yet to find. And the sunsets and sunrises! Holy cow! Talk about Technicolor! They have been the most beautiful I’ve seen on the whole trip. I must get photos even they won’t do them justice.
Our next stop is Anguilla, which I hear is a smaller, sleepier, chiller island than Antigua.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0394s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb