Day 3: Hoa's City Tour and War Remnants Museum


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Southeast » Ho Chi Minh City
November 26th 2012
Published: December 1st 2012
Edit Blog Post

Today was a much earlier start than I'm used to (8.30am). Hoa (the Intern Supporter - she basically helps me with queries I have about day-to-day living and travelling in Ho Chi Minh) arrived to translate the rental contract into English.

Afterwards we went to the Ba Tranh Markets. These are in the centre of Ho Chi Minh and are mostly for tourists (generally middle-aged to old French people seem to be the most common). I had been warned about this place - that is was incredibly expensive. Most of the vendors spoke English and pressed hard for the sell - watches, clothes, glazed bowls of coconuts. Although it wasn't that expensive (few dollars for each item - so quite cheap compared to Australia), I could see I'd get much better value from local shops so decided not to buy anything.

We decided to get breakfast which was basically meat and egg on a hot plate (a buffalo - sacred animal of Vietnam) so it continously cooked whilst I ate. Hoa then took me to the War Remnants Museum.

I may have not been here long, but this was one of the most moving experiences for me. The first pictures come from the reconstruction of a POW camp. The cells were meant to hold 15-20people. Outside, there were many huge helicopters, planes and tanks. I don't know why it is, but I always think of the riveters who had to put in every nut and bolt to make these machines (the pictures don't do justice to how big they actually were).

However, the most powerful imagery was inside with the halls of photography. Some showed before and after shots of various regions destroyed by the war. One can not failed to be inspired by the tenacity shown by the Vietnam people. Having read a little bit about their history, the Vietnam war slips into a long line of invading conflicts (previously with the Chinese and Mongols) and each time the Vietnamese staunchly fight for their independence.

The worst imagery (which I failed to capture as i was awestruck by it and I do get uncomfortable with graphic injuries - though I'm sure google has plenty) was that of victims of Napalm and Agent Orange. Even now, Vietnam still has issues as people in the countryside are still exposed to these toxic chemicals. New generations are being born with deformities.

It certainly riles any Anti-American sentiment you may have - mainly directed at chemical companies who, despite having compensated their own veterans affected by Agent Orange, have refused to do the same for the Vietnamese people.

Admittedly, there is a slight propaganda slant with the room glorifying the liberating forces of the north, however I still believe anyone, regardless of nationality, can be profoundly moved by the pictures of these atrocities, many captured by Western war correspondents.

That's what sets this apart from War memorials like our own. Where as Australia's primarily focuses of bravery of the troops, this museum focuses on the suffering and tenacity of civilians (which is truly important since civilians suffer the most from conflicts - both emotionally and physically).

After heading home and saying goodbye to Hoa, I decided to go for a walk around before meeting Be and some of her friends for dinner. Sunset is a beautiful time here (well anywhere to be honest) and it's the perfect weather - still nice and warm, but not too humid.

It is difficult to just take a walk - as most of the pavement is broken up, too thin or non-existent - but it certainly is the best way to simply take in everything, in the way you can't when everything's a blur on a motorbike.

Numerous people line the pavement with motorbikes offering rides. After meeting up with Be, we went to another street side shop for some Chinese inspired food (egg cooked into cubes with sprout type vegetables) followed by dessert. The dessert was a savoury dome with what tasted like spinach in the centre (more what I expected of Vietnamese desserts) though the best thing was a black sweet soup which apparently turns your hair black.

I'll say it now, and I'll say it many times again, the food and drink is incredibly here. I promise I'll start taking more photos of what I eat.


Additional photos below
Photos: 55, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0528s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb