Good Morning Vietnam!


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Southeast » Ho Chi Minh City
May 11th 2012
Published: May 11th 2012
Edit Blog Post

So, after leaving Kampot we took a bus to Saigon. The bus trip was okay and it didn't take as long as I thought, which is always good! When we got to the border they processed all of the locals first, leaving the tourists until last. I was the last person to go through and I thought I would be stood there for ages! We eventually arrived in Saigon, District one, made our way through the tiny alley ways with our bags and found a nice, cheap, family run Guesthouse. The following day we went out exploring. The motorbike cowboys tried to steal my bag, but I managed to hold on to it and almost pulled him off his bike! Win for me! We also went on a tour of the Co Chi tunnels just outside of Saigon. It was really interesting and incredible that they had 16,000 people living in the tunnel system for 20 years during their war with the French until the end of the Vietnam war. We each had a turn to try and get into these tunnels, I stayed away because I was scared that my ass or my boobs would get stuck! We got caught up in the rain quite alot but it never rains for too long.

We then took a bus to Dalat- a small city up in the mountains. The place is amazing and I think is my favourite so far. Yesterday we took a motorbike tour of the countryside. Our tourguides were very friendly and answered A LOT of my questions and also helped me to learn the basics of the Vietnamese language. They found it amusing that I had to stop and write things down all the time! We took a walk up the hills to take in the beautiful scenary before heading to the flower farm, where the tourguides got us a flower each. We also went to the coffee farm and a place where they make Rice Wine. I tried the wine, its stupidly strong at 65%, I dont think I could drink more than 1 shot without being sick! We visited the Elephant waterfall. I loved it. We stood on the edge, at the top of the fall and looked down over it. There was a rainbow and everything! We then walked behind it, across the rocks and through a little cave. Afterwards we sat and played cards with a local and went for a meal with our guides. The meal was huge, plates all over the table with everything different thing you can think of. It gave us an opportunity to try all the local food without having to point and guess at what it was. We visited the crazy hotel, it was like something out of LOTR. Amazing house. Tomorrow we are moving to Nha Trang, beach area on the East Coast.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.038s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb