A Very Merry Christmas and Happy New Year:)


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Southeast » Ho Chi Minh City
January 9th 2007
Published: December 18th 2009
Edit Blog Post



For Christmas and New Year; I spent my time in Vietnam and Thailand. I loved the getaway from school since I've long been missing these places. It was nice to put schoolwork behind joy and excitement for a change, felt tranquil and happy, became even more united with my father and nature. The holiday made me felt like I really belonged. When we met familiar faces from the past, they greeted us with warm welcomes and kindness.
.
In Saigon, Vietnam, my favorite places to visit again must’ve been Cho(means market) Ben Thanh, and Allez Boo, a pub. I've spent a lot of time in these places or the places around them in my early childhood, so it was a lot of nostalgia. Ben Thanh is extremely crowded and rather small, but I love going there because you can find everything from food to clothes. Allez Boo was pleasant, it was nice sitting around talking and playing pool while listening to old and new rock. I looove rock. 😊 The pub was full of spirit and life. I love Vietnam in general. Being abroad for a few years now, I would still consider it my home. In fact, not being there really makes me realize how much I appreciate Vietnam, even though all the countries I've been to are beautiful in different ways. Whenever I'm not there, I miss the food, the people, the culture, everything about it. Sometimes I feel rather homesick too.
.
I especially loved returning to Vietnam because of the fact that I haven’t been there for two and a half years and things were still pretty much the same. It felt like I belonged because I could speak the language and because we were welcomed in a way that it felt like we never left Vietnam, or in a way that there’s always a place for us, my father and me(my dad is one of the greatest people you could ever meet😊). Having to visit Vietnam again together with my dad really brought back the good times. Whenever I'm in Vietnam for a visit, everything just reminds me of how much I appreciate life.
.
A week before New Year, we flew to Bangkok, Thailand, then took a taxi to Pattaya, where we spent the rest of our holidays. I could still feel the excitement and anticipation of being there. Elephant Village, Srircha Zoo, Mini Siam are must go to places if you are in Pattaya. Elephant Village was just breathtaking. All the elephants are friendly and the people treat them well. Srircha Zoo was pretty neat, you can see pigs and tigers and dogs living together. The animals could always do with more space, but they are very well treated there. You can even feed camels! Mini Siam is a place full of mini versions of the world’s most famous monuments. Thai food is delicious. A bit too much on the hot side for me, but what the hell. What's good is good. The experience was fantastic, and I would recommend it for anyone and everyone, anytime. The things I miss the most about Pattaya, where we stayed, is undeniably the food and the animals. The food was so good, I shed tears and ate, and shed some more, but kept eating lol. The tears are really not because of the joy of having it, but because it was sooo f#^king spicy, haha😊. It was almost the same with my dad, but he handled it better(his face turned redxD). Then again, he had a little helper - beer.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.022s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb