Chuc Mung Nam Moi!!


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Southeast » Ho Chi Minh City
February 4th 2006
Published: February 4th 2006
Edit Blog Post

2006 baby!2006 baby!2006 baby!

2 new years in a year, not bad at all.
Happy New Year!
Tet, the end of the lunar year was happening whilst I was in Saigon. Crazy times, people celebrate for 3 days straight. Ok, but before I tell you about it all I have to mention that the hotel I was staying in Bi Saigon had not 1 not 2 but FOUR South African sports channels, supersport. Amazing. It was so bizarre sitting that first night and watching WP cricket on TV live in Vietnam. Needless to say I spent a great deal of time watching sport. I am sure there is a lot more to Saigon than I saw, but I did not care on iota. Watched SA trample Sri Lanka in cricket live, brilliant.
Ok, sorry. So Ho Chi Minh City or Saigon is a nice place. About 7 million people running around here, well most of them are sitting on scooters. It is unreal how many scooters there are going around. I once saw 5 people sitting on one tiny scooter.
Everything was pretty much closed down whilst I was there for the Tet holiday. It is a big family time for everyone.
The night of New Year was a great time, met some Canadians and
Wadd up mr policimanWadd up mr policimanWadd up mr policiman

Wouldn't mind a uniform like that.
this German oke and we bought 2 dollar large bottles of run and roamed the streets. The fireworks were incredible. Have never seen anything quite like it. They are big into there fireworks in this here part of the world as you can imagine. Then went to this aptly named bar Apocalypse Now, got down and jiggy on the dance floor, then moved to this other bar Allez Boo near to where I stayed. Also saw some awesome dragon dancing shows, really amazing.
Oh and for all those concerned, I did get a haircut as you can see. Well the guy used a blade to cut everything, hmm.
The people have been so welcoming and nice to me. Thanks you all.
Henga ply


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

NEW YEARNEW YEAR
NEW YEAR

You can see the excitement in their faces!
Lots of pretty flowersLots of pretty flowers
Lots of pretty flowers

Daar is baie mooi blomme in die veld -Oupa
VietnamVietnam
Vietnam

Yip, that is where I am.
Commies man, they re everywhereCommies man, they re everywhere
Commies man, they re everywhere

Funny to think I am in a communist country.
B FastB Fast
B Fast

Typical morning coffee and B fast place. Oh the coffee here is so good
THIS makes me happyTHIS makes me happy
THIS makes me happy

I LOVE CRICKET!
Post officePost office
Post office

Coolest Post office I have ever been in.
and a bit moreand a bit more
and a bit more

cricket for you guys.


Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0318s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb