Loving Vietnam


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Southeast » Ho Chi Minh City
February 3rd 2006
Published: February 3rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

We have been in Vietnam for two full days now and loving it! Yesterday we did touristy things and visited the War museum and the Reunification palace. The war museum was a very sobering experience and clearly showed you the real casualties of war. After leaving the war museum I suggested walking home as I thought I had my sense of direction working beautifully! Alas, I got us completely lost as each street looked like the last. Just as Paul started to look pretty pissed off we managed to catch a taxi which took us back to to the hotel. The weather is here if hot hot hot (well for me anyway) and quite humid so your pretty sticky after a short while on the streets. We also found the backpackers area yesterday and managed to book a half day tour to Cu Chi Tunnels for today.

Last night we went for dinner with two friends. They took us to a Vietnamese bbq restaurant which was an experience. We let them do the ordering for us and all went well until the raw prawns were put in front of us. Now I do like raw fish but not prawns. Thankfully neither did they so we were able to ask for a table bbq so we could cook them. There were some intereting things on the menu including goats penis which I regretfully had to resist! We were so glad to have our Vietnamese friend with us last night as he was able to ring the family who we are travelling to see in a couple of days and work out the details. After to talking to our friends last night it seems that our trip may be even more challenging than we previously thought. Mmmm. We have booked our flight to Pleiku and leave on Sunday morning by plane. I will have to somehow overcome my fear of small planes by then. We also may get into some difficulty if we actually stay with the family as you have to register everywhere you go and so accomodation is very skethcy at this stage. Am nervously excited about the next week.

Today we took the 1/2 day tour to Cu Chi tunnels and were amazed at how they looked and how people lived down there. Paul was brave enough to go down but only for 30 metres before he had had enough. I am glad I didnt venture down as I think I may have caused a scene. Sam said he must, so Paul also shot an AK 47 today at the tunnels. Wow are they loud. The tour guide we had was a scream.

So far am loving HCMC. Again a place of extremes and is difficult to turn away from the begging on the streets - am finding that very difficult to see but at the same time is a reality of life here. I have found the people here to be amazing - you do get hassled to buy everywhere you go but the people are so warm and friendly. Could stay here alot longer than four days.

Anyway must go. I think we are heading to the Rex hotel for a drink before dinner and then a wander around the streets. xo


Advertisement



Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.047s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb