Vietnam


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Southeast » Ho Chi Minh City
February 17th 2009
Published: February 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post

After a short flight I arrived in Ho Chi Minh once I waited an hour for my visa.

Already the taxi drivers were trying to rip me off charging 3 times more for a taxi to Pham Ngu Lao than it should've been. A bit of bargaining and I'd found a more reasonable one. The first backpacker guesthouse I tried was full, thankfully there was a whole street of them though and found one 3rd time lucky. A lovely big clean room with refrigerator and TV, sweet!
My first night and I walked around the city, I have never seen so many motorcycles in one place in my life. It was impossible to cross the street until I noticed the locals just walking in front of the traffic and the cars and motorcycles would drive around them. It was quite chaotic.

I booked a trip to the Cu Chi Tunnels tomorrow and a day trip on the Mekong Delta for the following day.

An early rise for the half day Cu Chi tunnel trip, we watched a documentary first about the War and we were then brought around the see the different tunnels, it consisted of more than 200km of tunnels, needless to say we didn't see them all! Our guide allowed us the enter one of the tunnels, a 15m duck underground with very little light. A bit claustrophic but worth seeing it.

Today I went for a trip along the Mekong Delta, we started with a short boat ride up the Mekong and visited some of the different islands. The first stop was a coconut candy making business, we got to taste the different toffees there.
Also there was a "pet" python which we were allowed hold. When I first heard this I was petrified but I decided to give it ago anyway! It felt rubbery and weird, I was shaking afterwards and I couldn't wait to get back to the guesthouse to shower! It was an experience though, something I can tick off the list.

This is my final day in Ho Chi Minh, I will be glad to get away from the noisey streets and constant beeping. Tomorrow I am getting a bus to Nha Trang, a beach resort on the south central coast.


Additional photos below
Photos: 31, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0314s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb