Arrived and Somewhat Alive


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Southeast » Ho Chi Minh City
February 7th 2009
Published: February 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Finally I have found internet connection in Singapore! Just arrived at the hotel and nearly did a happy dance seeing civilization and the internet. Whooh!

Finally arrived in Ho Chi Minh City at 11:00 p.m. and what a world of difference from my two hour experience at the Narita Airport (more on Narita near the end of my trip). There were throngs of people waiting for family and friends to arrive, the customs official was not very nice at all and no one really seems to smile here. Everyone seems to look at you with suspicion.

Mom and Dad was waiting amongst the throng of people who where all pushing and shoving their way through. It was very intimidating to see so many people and how loud everyone was, so loud that all together it sounded like a humungous beehive humming with millions of bees. Thank goodness my parents were there to pick me up because I don’t think I would have been able to catch a taxi cab to save my life. People were shoving and pushing, screaming at their family and at the taxi driver, ripping the taxi door open before the previous passenger has had a chance to get out. It was an amazing and scary experience finding a taxi, getting in the taxi and then trusting the taxi driver with your life…yes, your life! Now I know why Asians have such a bad rap about their driving. It’s TRUE they are bad drivers!!!! If they come from Vietnam, Cambodia and Laos.

Road rules, heck no! Courtesy for other drivers, whatever! Pedestrian’s right-of-way, yeah right! I have decided that Vietnam is the country of a million mopeds and they have no rules unless the vehicle is larger than the moped, otherwise get out of the way. Road communication is leaning on the horn and shoving your way through not matter the cost. As a passenger in the taxi I was amazed by the throngs of mopeds flying by on the right and left of the motor vehicles, what is even more amazing is if the sidewalk is available the mopeds will use that as well. I’ve seen three people on a moped, a mother sidesaddle on the moped holding and infant with no safety gear and the driver weaving in and out of traffic. Several times I had to squelch my screams because I was so afraid that the taxi driver was going to run down the mopeds. Dad told me to close my eyes and not to worry, but at one point I was so scared that I let out a scream and the very unfriendly taxi driver cracked a smile. Later I’ll tell you how to cross the street…I am proud to say that I am a quick study and have no fear after the first day.

I am staying with my aunt whom I have no memory of and who calls me by my original name Tuyet Mai (translated means snow flower). She and my mother are identical twins and I have to say it’s really strange to look at this woman and hear my mother voice come out of her mouth and see the exact same mannerisms that my mother has, right down to my mother’s laughed and the way she clears her throat.

The first morning after my arrival we went to the market, or should I say a very long road where street vendors copped a squat and laid out their goods for sale. Refrigeration is still uncommon so food is bought from the market everyday. Fresh produce and meats containing absolutely no preservatives are purchased every morning or afternoon and cooked that very same day. Meat is not the maid dish but a side dish and portions are small. Vietnam is a poor developing country but food is in abundance here, you constantly see people eating food from street vendors (there is no health code here) and nearly everyone here has some sort of food to sell. The first morning we went to breakfast to have Pho, it cost $6 for four people.

I’ll end here by telling you that I am so happy that my aunt has put in a flushing toilet! Hallelujah!

More later, and pictures will probably pop up when I get to Hawaii when it’s more convenient. Signing off for now, don’t know when the next time will happen.

Mai


Advertisement



Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0663s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb