Another crazy story.


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Southeast » Ho Chi Minh City
January 22nd 2009
Published: January 22nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

DinnerDinnerDinner

Me, Carolanne, Lynsey and Miriams mom.
Last Thursday we had Miriam’s goodbye dinner. She had chosen a vietnamese restaurant and it turned out to be an evening full of experiences! It started with the menue: they had the normal meat (chicken, pig, deer, cow), but then they had things like snake, bat, turtle, ostriche and a few more “special” dishes. I ordered some noodles, since even though I was curious, I just couldn’t imagine eating the things mentioned above. But some of the other volunteers couldn’t resist trying something new 😊 Lynsey, from Scotland ordered chicken, Oliver, from Sweden, got snake and Chris, from the states, had the most interesting: turtle! I didn’t realize that he had ordered that, until it came, even though they had brought out an turtle earlier. Ususally when you order chicken, you expect something similar to how they serve it in our countries, right? But not in this restaurant. They actually brought a WHOLE chicken, chopped up in smaller pieces, but with the feet, legs and head! Lynsey couldn’t believe it! 😊 I guess the snake tasted alright, since I didn’t hear anything from that end of the table... When Chris got his dinner, literally everyone had their camera out and focused
DinnerDinnerDinner

Oliver and Nina (they're from Sweden).
on him 😊 When the waiter started cutting the turtle (the legs, head and through the body) I had to close my eyes, since I felt sick to my stomach, since I like turtles a lot and it was terrible to see it dead and all soft... Chris did a pretty good job of finishing it all up and I was very impressed that he didn’t get sick the following days. lol
When we were about to leave, the staff had set up a table with a sharp knife and several bottles of wodka. We could’t figure out what that was for, until they brought out a snake! The waiter was holding its head with one hand and put his foot on the tail. Then he put the head down on the table and cut it off. There wasn’t much blood, until he went for the heart. He then poured the blood from the heart into one of the half-full wodka bottles and then we realized that some guests had actually ordered that! ( Snake blood with wodka) I couldn’t believe that the snake was still moving after they had cut its heart out of it, but somebody explained to
DinnerDinnerDinner

My friend Huyen and me.
me that it was muscle that made it move.
Walking back to the dorm, I felt a little sick to my stomach, after seeing those things and I think this experience will be enough (seeing animal being cut open/up)... But it was another experience! 😊



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

DinnerDinner
Dinner

The innocent turtle.
DinnerDinner
Dinner

Chris enjoying (?) his turtle.
DinnerDinner
Dinner

The turtle cooked.
DinnerDinner
Dinner

Kissing the turtle. :)
DinnerDinner
Dinner

The crew.
Dinner Dinner
Dinner

Turtle head.
DinnerDinner
Dinner

Scott messing around with the turtle head. :)


Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0267s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb