Ho Chi Minh City


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Southeast » Ho Chi Minh City
December 14th 2005
Published: January 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Tire...someTire...someTire...some

As it has become a trend on my bus travels, this bus gets a flat tire and we have to take a 30 minute break to fix it.
As has become the norm, the bus ride was longer than advertised...mainly due to a flat tire that caused a 2 hour delay....

I wandered around the downtown area a bit before following a tout to a hotel on "minihotel" street. I bargained him down from $12 to $9 for a small room with one bed. No hot water but it had a TV with some cable channels.

It was already 9:30pm so I ventured out for a bit to eat and bumped into some Israelis I had met in Mui Ne along with some Canadians and got some food and drinks with them.

I woke in the morning and found out that the TV had some american football games on it from CBS back home. I watched a bit while laying in bed before venturing out for the day. I wanted to visit the Ho Chi Minh Museum because the on in Hanoi was closed when I was there. Luckily, the museum was in walking distance so it was my first stop of the sightseeing day. The museum provided a great history of the leader along with clippings from papers around the world.

After spending 1.5
Danger KittyDanger KittyDanger Kitty

My friend Ally shows of her motoscooter scars...To many travelers get on the small cc scooters and think they are safe..and many end up crashing. Usually nothing serious but painful nonetheless.
hours at the museum, I emerged to a slight drizzle. So I hired a cyclo driver for a few dollars to pedal me around to see the city. My next official stop was the war rememberance museum which houses a few pieces US military equipment and some of the more unforgettable photos from the war.

In all, I had spent about six hours sightseeing. Like Hanoi, HCMC is very modern city and showcased some of the best Vietnam has to offer. I would have like to spend a day or more here but time is running out so I booked a boat for the next day to the Mekong Delta which would deliver me to the Cambodian border the following day.

That night, after a shave and a $3 message, I wandered around the streets a bit and found my way into a free concert that looked something like an American Idol showcase. I only stayed for one performance. Later, I bumped into my Irish friends (Stephen, Gary and Ailee) from Mu Nei and we had a few drinks.

Farewell Vietnam. I am glad I spent time in this country but as a whole I was underwhelmed...I
Swimming in Saigon RiverSwimming in Saigon RiverSwimming in Saigon River

On my way to the Ho Chi Minh Museum, I find these kids swimming in the dirty water of the Saigon River.
guess I am about 7-10 years to late visiting this country.




Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Bridge JumpingBridge Jumping
Bridge Jumping

If the dirty water was not enough, here one of the naked kids prepares to jump of the bridge into the river.
Uncle HoUncle Ho
Uncle Ho

The memorial to HCM as I entered the museum of his honor.
Cyclo-ing aroundCyclo-ing around
Cyclo-ing around

I hired this cyclo driver to take me around the rest of Ho Chi Minh City (HCMC) as my back was starting to get stiff.
Vietnam War MuseumVietnam War Museum
Vietnam War Museum

This museum contained many US military items from the war as well as photos.
PropagandaPropaganda
Propaganda

Another "Party" sign
Fruit sellers on streetFruit sellers on street
Fruit sellers on street

I my cyclo driver pedals, I snap photos of the street life of HCMC...these ladies with their traditional hats squatting on the street is how I remember Vietnam.
Free Vietnamese ConcertFree Vietnamese Concert
Free Vietnamese Concert

I stumbled into this free concert which, by the looks and sounds of it, seemed like an American Idol contest. I was the only white person in the audience.
Bag of SipsBag of Sips
Bag of Sips

Drinking from plastic bags is big hit in this part of the world. These four ladies gladly pose for me to showcase the bags.
Holiday SeasonHoliday Season
Holiday Season

Even the street beggers get into the Holiday Season.


Tot: 0.282s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 29; qc: 156; dbt: 0.1312s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb