Cocktails, Shopping and a Spa. I really am on Holiday!


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Southeast » Ho Chi Minh City
May 4th 2008
Published: May 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Aaaaaaaahh what a day today has been. I really am on holiday!
Last night, after I'd got back from a very long day at the Mekong Ric, Caroline and I headed out for a posh dinner. Ric had been upset that we hadn't done posh yet since I'd arrived (not sure what Chris told him about me!) so we went to the Camargue, a french owned restaurant that gets the thumbs up in the guide books. Problem was we hadn't booked and they were full (hmmm, Caroline and I were sure we could see several empty tables..!) so we went to a really nice Thai restaurant instead and feasted on curry. It was lovely.. and a snip at a million quid!
After that the cocktails were calling, so up to the 9th floor of the Caravelle (where all the foreign journos were when the war started) for a 'Good Morning Vietnam' and some really bad entertainment. The Saigon Saigon bar is supposed to be classy and has all the trappings you'd expect, but on a Saturday night the offerings included a live band from South Africa, singing Diana Ross, badly! Worse still were the drunk westerners dancing along. Sorry sight indeed. We managed to grab a table tucked round the corner but the music was so loud we ducked out after one and headed to the Rex across the road. I'd decided we should compare and contrast the two most famous bars in the city. The Rex was much quieter (a good thing) but nowhere near as impressive. The views across the city were cool though and at least there were no Supremes wannabes!
Another 4am end for me and Caroline.. so a lazy start today.
This afternoon was spent shopping (for jeans which I'd deliberately travelled without but am now in dire need of) and a couple of tops.. I had to stop there as I have to carry it all tomorrow!
Then on to the Lady Saigon Spa. OHMIGOD. My masseuse had the most amazing hands. She was tiny, but so incredibly strong. We opted for the hot stones back and full body massage. I've done my back in a bit (probably the crap seats on my bus for the last two days) and I am hoping she has worked some magic.
Tonight, dinner at the 'Underground' a funky ex-pats bar serving all manor of food that has no Vietnamese connection! Fried Foie Gras anyone? Buffalo Wings and Fajitas for me.. I am going local for the next few days and needed to make sure I was full first!
And now I have to pack before leaving Saigon tomorrow morning early and heading for Dalat to explore the Central Highlands.
It's been a fantastic week and I don't want to leave (at least not the comfort of R&C's house and their hospitality) but the adventure steps up a gear from here.
Onwards and upwards .. next stop a six hour bus ride!
Adios for now. More stories to follow soon I'm sure xx



Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0445s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb