Short and sweet


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Southeast » Ho Chi Minh City
November 8th 2005
Published: November 10th 2005
Edit Blog Post

“I tear my heart open, I sew my self shut, my weakness is that I care too much” - Papa Roach



My brother wrote me a letter before I left, and he said, “remember that everyone has a story to tell just like you. If you listen you will learn a lot.” I learned more about Vietnam from listening to the story of a 16 year old Vietnamese street girl than I could have ever learned in a history class or from a text book. I was sick and tired of being an arrogant American blowing off and ignoring the kids trying to sell things. So when I was approached to buy postcards one night I said “sure I would love some.” We ended up talking for a while, and I made a new friend.





Please forgive me, my brain is shot. At this point in the journey I am so exhausted that it’s a challenge to function normally. I'm not counting down the days until I get home because I want to be back in Buffalo (sorry :-p), I'm counting down the days until I get home because I want more than 4hours of sleep a night. See you in a month.


Advertisement



10th November 2005

Cut you some slack
O.K. Nicki, but don't forget what you learned, because we'll want to hear all about it. Some of life's most important lesson's are learned from those around us. Whether it be in Viet Nam or right down the street from where you live. The important thing, which I think you've found out, is to listen. So you're saying your bro is pretty smart? I think so too. Love ya dearly, Pops
10th November 2005

Way to listen
Honey, That's is why I am so proud of you. Keep listening. Love, Mom
11th November 2005

History nut
I'm glad you liked Vietnam. It was great talking to you on the phone. You know what's sweet? You are enjoying history...muhahaha: I win!

Tot: 0.158s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0453s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb