Good Morning Vietnam...


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Southeast » Ho Chi Minh City
November 17th 2007
Published: December 11th 2007
Edit Blog Post

00
DAYS 
00
HOURS 
00
MINS 
00
SECS

until our South to North of Nam trip is over 😞






After a morning of last minute rushing (as per my usual style) we finally got off to the airport with probably too much luggage than what I really wanted to take, but anyway. The flight was pretty smooth, but I still drugged myself up before getting on. BUT...when i saw the selection of movies and TV shows that were on the entertainment console, I had wished that I hadn't taken any tablets, damn the drugs! Jetstar are actually quite good to fly with, except that I paid a whopping $10 (!!!!!!) for a pie. But at least it was a bloody good pie...I can't complain too much.

When we finally arrived in HCMC we went out to meet our taxi to our guesthouse, to which we found a guy with the wrong date written on a piece of paper and a name...but not my name. he took us anyhow. finally getting through the manic traffic we found the guesthouse and found out they did not have us booked in, even though I had already paid a deposit the day before...so they walked us down a dingy alley and took us to another guesthouse (Mai Phai) and we ended up paying $14 for an aircon room and nice shower, so we were happy enough to settle for it cos we were so tired and hungry! the aircon ended up causing us to freeze in the night and it wasn't even worth it!

We wanted to head off to Cambodia that night, and because there were no other flights that evening we had to settle on rushing to get one for the next morning. We knew we were paying through the roof, but wanted to get across to Siem Reap for a few days so took it anyhow, hoping it would be well worth it!

We didn't really get a chance to look around town a lot - the markets were closed, streets were busy, we were tired, and had an early morning ahead of us. So we had a quick meal, to which of course i had to choose the SPICIEST dish on the menu!!! I ended up having to swap my meal with mark's - I couldn't get past that first mouthful! then we had an early one on a semi hard bed with crap pillows, but i'll tell ya, my head hit the pillow and it was lights out!...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.007s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.033s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb