Ho Chi Minh stopover


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Southeast » Ho Chi Minh City
September 8th 2007
Published: September 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The moped arrived on time, but the driver was a different guy to the one I'd agreed 50K dong with, and asked for 80K. We agreed on 65. The moped didn't have a foot well so my backpack was balanced in between the driver and the handlebars. The fact that he had to lean to one side to see the road didn't seem to bother him, but I was a bit nervous, especially when we were bombing it along a dual carriageway with really bad side winds, and I had to lean the other way to stop us from falling over.

Arriving in one piece at possibly the crappiest airport I'd been to yet, I thanked the driver for my near death experience and got my plane to Ho Chin Minh. Just out of the terminal I had taxi drivers trying to rip me off left right and centre (one even offering me "Boom Boom"!), but having done the journey once already, I knew how much I should expect to pay.

I had planned to get an overnight bus to Phnom Penh, but sadly they don't exist, or at least I couldn't find one. I booked the bus for the morning and checked into the same guesthouse I'd stayed in before, in the same room, up the same 5 flights of stairs, and got an early night as the bus left for Cambodia at 8am the next morning.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0472s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb