Sorry...


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Southeast » Ho Chi Minh City
August 27th 2007
Published: August 25th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Mekong BoatMekong BoatMekong Boat

Jen, Au, Tony and me on a boat in the Mekong!
Hey guys! Sorry for the lack of updates- I've been super busy for the past three weeks! The good news is that I have a job! I'm teaching at ILA, a really great English language school. Today was actually my first day- I started with two classes of 4-6 yr olds. They're crazy- but fun... Anyway, here are pics from the past few weeks (our trips to The Mekong, Nha Trang, and Cambodia).

I promise to start updating more!- Once we get a house, which will be hopefully within the next week or so, and I get settled into my new job- you'll be seeing much more pics on a regular basis! Just know that, yes, I am still alive and loving it here.

You guys need to start planning your trips to visit me! I miss you all!
Love, Katie


Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Happy Happy ToursHappy Happy Tours
Happy Happy Tours

One of the many buses we had to take to the Mekong w/ a very "Happy" tour guide!...and me passed out
Me & A TempleMe & A Temple
Me & A Temple

This was in Cambodia...one of the many many temples
Lunchtime @ the insect marketLunchtime @ the insect market
Lunchtime @ the insect market

Yes, I ate one... or his legs anyway
Lara Croft?Lara Croft?
Lara Croft?

Cool tree... this is the temple where they filmed the movie (jealous much, Tina!)
Interesting Menu ItemInteresting Menu Item
Interesting Menu Item

Hairy Area...hmmm, I think not...
Yay! I passedYay! I passed
Yay! I passed

Our LC graduation lunch. I'm TESOL certified!
Peace!Peace!
Peace!

It seems like all Asian tourists flashed the "peace" sign in their pictures- so why shouldn't we?
Ankor WatAnkor Wat
Ankor Wat

Hey- I fell off of this!
Ankor WatAnkor Wat
Ankor Wat

It was steep, but we managed to climb up to the very top and back down in 30 minutes!(well, again...I fell down....)
Yet another templeYet another temple
Yet another temple

...at sunset
Bored...Bored...
Bored...

We toured the king's palace in Cambodia...and grew a little restless
I like this picI like this pic
I like this pic

front gates of the kings palace
LC girlsLC girls
LC girls

Kim & Astrid from the new LC class with Jen and I...pre-karaoke
Later that night...Later that night...
Later that night...

This picture makes me laugh everytime! Oh yes, we later realized that this particular Karaoke venue was especially for male customers...
Nha TrangNha Trang
Nha Trang

Dinner on the beach!
Nha TrangNha Trang
Nha Trang

Our massive lunch on board one of the tour boats!
Sea sickness?Sea sickness?
Sea sickness?

This pic cracks me up. So many people were getting sick on boat...and I suppose this is one remedy...
floating barfloating bar
floating bar

Khong Say, Khong Vea.... (translation: No drunk, no Home)
Not doing so greatNot doing so great
Not doing so great

After the floating bar...


26th August 2007

Finally!!!
Katie! Yea...finally some pictures! I miss seeing your pics and hearing about your journey! I'm glad that you are having a good time and getting to see so much. I wish I could come and do some of that Karoeke with you.....Lady in Red would be my choice. Anyhow...love the pics...keep 'em comin. We miss you sooooo much, you have no idea. I can't wait to see what you have to post next. Love you much...Missy and B
26th August 2007

hey katie lynn, ive missed reading your blogs. im glad to hear everything is going well. i love and miss you sugar.
26th August 2007

We should talk.
Looking at these photos, and of your new friends...makes us think, that eveything I taught is gone. We will discuss this via the telephone. In other notes, you look skinny. (and your "girls" look huge. Good job!)

Tot: 0.149s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0646s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb