oh no! uncle Ho!


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Southeast » Ho Chi Minh City
January 26th 2007
Published: January 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

my title has absolutely nothing to do with my blog, I just thought it was wity.

I want to start, not at the beginning, but at the part that is most present in my mind. Today I went to the War Remnants Museum and it made me cry. I won't go into too much detail, but there are many many photos and I remember thinking "who would want to photograph this?" and then I teared up. Of all the things I have seen on this trip I think this is the thing I saw that made me feel the most, so maybe this is why there are photos, to keep us from forgetting and not even let us have the option of pretending it never happened.
Heavy does not even begin to describe the exhibit.

well, now that I've said that everything else seems a little trivial...
In Bangkok Adeline and I met up with Corrina a couple of times, but her mom decided to go on her trip so they're doing the package thing so I'll try to meet up with them at some point along the way, but who knows when/where/if. It was really cool to see her and hear about her experiences teahing in China. Adeline headed back to Canada the same day I flew into Saigon (HCMC) so now I'm free as a bird once more.

on the bus from the airport I met a South African guy who was meeting up with 2 Canadian guys who he'd gone on exchange to Korea with. They invited me to hang out but they were reminiscing too much and I got bored and peaced out, but not before I got them involved in a rousing debate about being atheist vs being agnostic. Gotta love having a heated argument over spring rolls with complete strangers, ah the life of the backpacker.

s'anyways I went to check my email and my old buddy Si Heng was online, he asked where I was, I gave him the address and in the next 5 mins he and his coworker came and picked me up. I got to see where he's working and meet his cousin, who took us all out for dinner in the market. Si Heng was goaded into eating an almost hatched egg and to repay me he made me eat crab brain (he says it was eggs but I don't believe him).

So that's yesterday summed up.

Today I slept late then headed out to the market, went to the Reunification Palace, then the War Museum then went and ate some ice cream and bought some propaganda posters. I'm starting to get used to crossing the street, you don't wait for the cars/motos to stop, you just ease yourself into the stream of traffic and cross slowly, praying that you don't get hit. If you're me sometimes old men help you cross the street, kind of a reverse boy scout thing going on here.

After I'm done here I'm going to try to book a trip to the Cu Chi tunnels for tomorrow, then the next day I'll be off to somewhere new I think.

much love
Alexis

Advertisement



26th January 2007

Hello Hello
I passed on your address to my friend in Vietnam; who knows what will happen. Sounds like fun, glad you're blogging again! Tell Si-Heng I say word homedog. -Jane

Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.052s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb