Saigon


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Southeast » Ho Chi Minh City
November 21st 2006
Published: November 26th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Travelled from the Mekong delta on a local bus for $1!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Discovered Saigon beer and stayed up past my bedtime.

Played International Thumb war with some Swedish ladies.

Visited the War Memorial museum which told the story of the American War. It included a documentary, photos and they also had foetuses on display that had been affected by Agent Orange - not pleasant at all. Read the memorial book in the final exhibit and was not amused but a comment made by an American stating that 'You must remember that America did not start the war - it was Ho Chi Minh and the VC'. Couldn't believe that somebody had written this after what they had just seen.

Went to the Cu Chi tunnels where they still have some of the underground network intact. Fired an AK47 and a M-16.

Had my first western fast food meal - a KFC which was frankly disappointing.

Lots of 'sex tourists' here.

Watched a Russian version of 'It's a knockout' on cable TV where they had bulls chasing people being pushed around on hospital beds. Bizarre.

Lost my room key.

Still buying tickets in the moped lottery and now starting to perfect my slow walk across the roads.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Firing an AK47 at the Cu Chi tunnelsFiring an AK47 at the Cu Chi tunnels
Firing an AK47 at the Cu Chi tunnels

With a random bloke relaxing against me ;)


26th November 2006

memory lane
It seems that you are doing pretty much the same trip as me but in reverse. I also tried my hand at going down the hole at cu chi tunnels but my hips are a tad bit bigger than yours and my arms not nearly as strong. I did have a panic moment that i was not going to be able to push my hips back out. I used as my arm strength to avoid the obvious embarrasment. Well let us know where you are off to next...and enjoy.. Lucy
28th November 2006

I always did do things back to front boss! :)

Tot: 0.136s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0568s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb