Adam in the Cu Chi Tunnels - Ash off to Bangkok


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Southeast » Ho Chi Minh City » District 1
February 8th 2012
Published: March 4th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Adam's Day:

Ash had to meet a manufacturer in Bangkok so it was off solo to the Cu Chi Tunnels; a complex underground system of tunnels created by the Viet Cong to hide and implement strategic attacks against the enemy during the war. To be honest, there was a bit of a war going on inside my head just entering the tunnels. Definitely not for the claustrophobic!

As I entered the tunnel, I had to shuffle to the side to make room to a couple of tourist who'd chosen to back out after going a few metres and realising the encroaching darkness was a little too much. And I couldn't really blame them. The tunnel is two and a half feet at best and at times it was a matter of getting on all fours to squeeze through. Add to this the fact that the air is stiffling hot and there is next to no vision for a good three quarters of the journey and you've got all the ingredients for a good ol' panic attack if you let it get to you.

Sliding, crawling and sweating through the dirt , it came to my attention if there was ever an army in history that could've done with the Scrubba wash bag it's the Viet Cong. Well, fortunate for me, I did have one and it was put to great use that night.

Ash's day:

Only a couple of days ago an opportunity arose for me to meet with a large manufacturer of outdoor products, if I could make it to Bangkok.

After booking a flight to Bangkok, I left Adam to explore the tunnels and extended our challenge to cover 4 countries in 3 weeks.

In the taxi, the check in line at the airport and my meeting in Bangkok, I was met with the same question: "um...where is your luggage?". Unfortunately the language barrier prevented a detailed explanation in most of these cases. However, it is clear that not many people travel this light; or maybe they do, but they smell and everyone just ignores them.

The meeting was then followed by more walking in the heat and high humidity, dinner, 3-4 minutes washing what I wore and a well deserved early night.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0371s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb