sat day 155


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » South Central Coast
July 2nd 2015
Published: July 2nd 2015
Edit Blog Post

The start of today was centred mainly around the fact that I needed to pop back to the tailors at noon for the next fitting. I was more than happy to spend the morning looking around the beautiful town of Hoi An. The town consists mainly of just 3 parallel streets running along the side of a river, so really easy to navigate your way round. Some of the buildings date back to the 16th century and the whole place resembles an old French town. A lot of the shops sell nice arts and local crafts with cheap handmade leather goods - shoes, belts bags etc. Its difficult not to want to spend all your money here! After walking up to the Japanese covered bridge which dates back to the mid 16th century - motorised vehicles aren't allowed and after taking some pictures, I made my way to the tailors. Trying on my outfit and with a few alterations needed here and there I headed off on the back of the shop owners bike to the workshop to get them done. The tailors is a family run business with the parents and one son tailoring while the other son runs the shop. Within about 30 minutes the alterations had been made and after one more fitting I thought I was happy with it so we headed back into town and back to the shop. Trying things on again I decided I wasn't quite as happy as I thought I was - talk about picky! So, with a couple more changes I would be picking my outfit up tomorrow - yay! And I'm sure I would be happy with it. So with the rain still drizzling I headed off towards the central market and in and out of a few shops before heading back to the hotel for a bit of a dry off. Heading back into town for dinner I ate at Mermaids restaurant which claims to be the first restaurant in Hoi An. The menu had a nice story in it of how the restaurant came to be and how the owner - opening her door to customers from all over the world - was shown foods from different countries and devised her menu as such. Opting for a burger - shown by an American - who else!? After, i walked to find a patessisre which I'd seen earlier for a cake and a proper cup of tea - how very British! While sitting with a good view to watch the world walking by. Having more of a look in some of the shops I headed back in the direction of the hotel after a nice relaxed day.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0456s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb