Last day in Tam Ky


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » South Central Coast » Quảng Nam » Tam Ky
August 29th 2007
Published: October 25th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Last day in TamKy
29-Aug-2007

Hi all
The last two days have been quite hectic - who said Tam Ky was a quiet place? I arrived back in Tam Ky safely from my weekend away, but to an empty house as the other volunteers had gone to different places. All Mrs Hahn's "chicks" and one "rooster" (Phil) all returned for her usual feast. She would be the most fabulous cook in all of Vietnam. Who will sponsor her to open a restaurant???
Monday we went to the Baby orphanage and I will be so sad to leave little Lucky. He is such a dear sweet thing as they all are, but you can't help but get a "favourite" in the time you spend in the nurseries especially. Out to Home of Affection for my final lesson with "my" three boys - they were a joy to "try" and teach but they were very enthusiastic but as we all know patience and persistence has to be qualities one needs in these situations. I will miss those boys but will treasure their smiles and cuddles and know my camera gave them some fun times - I never know what is on my camera when I come to have a look at the day's takings. Well, that night Mrs Hahn and Mr "Horn" (Hahn) and "Grandma" certainly knew how to spoil us with a wonderful spread and cake to say farewell to Liane, Phil and myself. It was a fabulous night and Glenda's sister, Annie, John and three boys have been joining us on lots of occasions. (On holidays from Australia).The boys are so well behaved and it is a joy to watch them eat everything. They will miss their motor bike rides that they have been given by Yen, Mr H and Mrs H.
On Tuesday morning we all went out to Tam Thanh school. It was an exciting day for some children at Tam Thanh school as 59 were being presented with scholarships to go onto learn English. Mr Viet came over from DaNang and he was really pleased that the scholarships could be continued. The presentation was well organised and was exciting to be part of the proceedings. In the afternoon was my last visit to the Baby Orphanage and said my tearful goodbye to little Lucky. Got as far as getting a photo of him in my bag but that was as far as I got. He fitted in really well though so was tempting to keep going with him. Later in the night, it was a production line for Mr H ferrying the boys, Mrs H and their little boy to the icecream place. Glenda, John and I rode our bikes down and it was an uneventful ride this time for Glenda as she was knocked off her bike the other evening.
Now, it is Wednesday morning (29th August) and I have done my last lot of packing and will leave for DaNang after lunch. Will say my goodbyes to Grandma, Mr and Mrs H, Glenda, Lisa, Anne and Meabh and to say that I have had a great time in Tam Ky but wasn't long enough of course. At least a short time was better than no time at all. Tonight will be another party time as it is Yen, our interpreter's birthday but sadly I won't be there to help her celebrate.
Thank you GVN for giving me this opportunity once more to experience volunteering. This year was quite different to last as I had the chance to do some English teaching which I really enjoyed.
To all the other volunteers, enjoy your time in the different places and maybe catch up with some of you again in the future.
All take care and stay safe.
Love Brenda from Australia


Advertisement



Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 13; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0503s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb