Trà Quế herb village- my first impression


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » South Central Coast » Quảng Nam » Hoi An
April 21st 2015
Published: May 6th 2015
Edit Blog Post

If I am able to use one word describing this place, it must be pure. To be honest, Tra Que Herb village is worth a destination for those who wish a natural, peaceful and relaxing environment and I strongly recommend it to you.

Tra Que Herb village is well-known as aromatic vegetables locating just a few kilometers from Northeast of Hoi An. Therefore, I decided to ride a bicycle to discover this place fully. It took me just a few seconds to smell the fragrance of vegetable there. How scented it is! Moreover, I have a chance to see beautiful tiny lecture, salad, houttuynia and basil queue up straightly for watering by local farmers. Those vegetables spice up every meal of locals like Cao Lau, Mi Quang, Banh Xeo; they enliven the spicy effectively so people in Hoi An always feel deficient if their meals lack of Tra Que vegetables.

After that, I booked an available tour at Tra Que herb village and got a number of surprising things. I had a chance to pretend an ancient farmer doing many agricultural activities like digging, cultivating, watering, or manuring and so forth. If you still suppose those things are easy-doing, you have to try it. Local farmers there accomplish everything manually; they trend to use natural and non-chemicals sources. For example, instead of using chemical pesticide, they prefer using seaweed as an alternative which brings an amazing nutrient than we have ever thought. Another possible example is that residents harvest mature vegetable by hand only so that those vegetable are able to revive and grow naturally again.

To be honest, I am a bit curious so I asked many farmers whether they have some secrets for this adorable village. 100% of them agreed that the flourish they achieved was mainly thanked to land’s ancestor which means the magical and traditional soil there. Then, they told me about Tra Que’s formative years with honour which I felt through their winkle eyes. During our conversation, I enjoyed a special ginger tea with a few basil on made by locals here.

After the whole hectic day becoming a ‘fake’ hard-working farmer, I learned a number of things and somehow understand farmers in Hoi An. I took a deep breath before leaving this impressive land.

So, that is the end of this memorable day. After all, one thing that have still stayed in my mind was the image of diligent and adorable farmers in Hoi An.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.034s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb