A day of shopping


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » South Central Coast » Quảng Nam » Hoi An
July 31st 2006
Published: August 4th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


So Hoi An is the place to get clothes made. I think they have more tayolrs then the states has dunken donuts. We arrived yesterday morning after taking a night bus and a along search to find a hotel we all settled in for a few hour nap. Later the afternoon we walked around the town looking for a taylor, no need to look far as they run after you to bring you to their families shops. We were dragged to a market store where we poured over books and magizens looking at clothes. Not wanting to buy from the first place we walked around for a few more hours becoming overwelmed by all the shops, looking for one that many people had recomended. After a while we had to stoped and get something for dinner. Chris played leader heading us home and just when we thought that we were lost we stummbled over the recommened shop. About 2 hours later and full of ideas we made an appointment for the next morning to get things made. I think this town has some kind of tiem vortex because we arrived the next morning and after spending time picking peices and sketching them out then breaking for lunch it was 4pm but flet like it should be noon. Adrienne had alittle bit of a tizzy before lunch because they wont tell you any of the prices before you spend hours picking things and then choosing the material and by that time you have invested so much time that you really don't want to do it again somewhere eles and they up the prices of most of the things they had quoted us for the night before. It always seemd to be " no no I say around that price" like around $40 was now $60 or that price not with good linning. But tried and true thought the whole trip she proclamed that she would not buy anything and was ready to walk away if they would not bring her prices down and they did. I wish that I had been alittle more frantic because I probably could have saved a bit more. So we thought that we were done clothes choosen and the rest of the time here would just be relaxing and wanting for them to be done. HOW WRONG WE WERE. After meating up with the boys (Chris and Dabiel) and Sophie we headed off to dinner but had to stop by a shop where Sophie had ordered a dress eariler that day. Needless to say that while waiting for her to try it on we looked through magaziens and brozed at the material, and by the time she was sorted the other 4 of us were ordering clothes for ourselves. I got a dress I had wanted from the other shop but they didn't have the material I wanted and they had wanted double the price then at this new place. So in the end it was about 10 pm when we headed to dinner which is really late since the town shuts down around 9pm.
The next day after lunch we headed for our fittings. I still can't believe that in less then 24 hours clothes can be made. I understand that yes a shirt or a pair of pants thatis fine, but we ordered alot of clothes. I mean suits and dresses and shirts besides the fact that Adrienne chose things that all the cerleberties wear with tones of detail or really low necklines ( She loves her low neck lines). After what felt like a few hours of tring on clothes and pinning hemmling and changing everything we didn't like, as well as choosing sketching and pricing all the new clothes we wanted it was 9pm. I guess I can't say that we were at teh shop for the entire time considering we did leave for altittle while after my leather jacket arrived and it was not what I had expected. instread of leather it was pleather and it took me a while to figure out how wrong it was. When I asked is this realy leather? Kim the boss of the shop told me :No I never said real leather." no she had just said " this one cheap leahter, this one better and this one best." When showing me the samples, how stupid and I to think that it was going to be real leather. So I informewd her, getting alkittle bit heated i addmitt, that I was not going to pay for a not realy leather jacket espesically since the pleather was bubbling at points! after a few mintes of Claire being loud in a busy shop we agreed that I did not pay for anything that I didn't like and I choose 2 pairs of pants and two more tops to replace the jacket. The only other thing we all learnt about Hoi An that evening is that it is probably vietmans central city for rats and cockrotches. After seeing one run out of the resturants after we had already eaten there ( a really nice and more expensive one at that) I think we counted 8 more on the less then 1km wak home. Adrienne played the fun game fo dancing around the cockroach the rest of the time we were here. you can never step on them because if you do they lay their eggs and that sticks to your shoe and then you will have cockroaches in every room you stay in.
So I am sure that this entry will not make a ton of sence at parts. That is because I started writing it 4 days ago the day after we arrived and I am finishing it now just beore our bus come to pick us up, 4 days later. I have worked on it here and there but this town is like a time vortex and whenever I sit down or think I have a minute between fittings it's gone or we dicied to look around one more time. that was the case last night when at 4pm addireene decied that she wanted shoes made and we walked around orderted then at 5 telling them they had until 8:30 to finish. #1/2 hours to make 2 p[airs of leather boats and you know what they were done!
Sorry I can't say anything about the secenary or people hear becaue all we really saw was the inside of taylor shops and the samw river front from teh same resturant we eat at every lunch. teh trip is moving along faster non then before and even though I want to see everyone I don't want thses last 3 weeks to vanish befor my eyes.
Love ya
bye
Kelly and Tony
I rtied to e-mail you and it keeps getting sent back to me even when I responded to the forward you sent me ( probably before most since when I got it it would ahve been 4am there) Congratualtions I love you !!!! I heard that you were absulutally beautiful, from all of my sources. I also heard you throw a kick ass party, but I already knew that didn't I (Doorbell) Can't wait to have a drink with you, where I will be the oldmaid the only one left unwed.
Andrew
Are you moving back?!!!! the romours are flying. Let ne know
Jen and Regan
Congratulations. A boy a Boy so excieting this means that everything is open for gifts again! He will need new cloths and boy toys. Oh by the way I ahve bought a mobile for the crib already it's just small and it you hate it then just toss it, I just thought it was cute and saw it in a shop the day you were due. So happy for you all.
And for all of you who don't know yet the carter's are getting a christmas presnet themselves. Emma is pregnets and from what I have hgeard is SHOWING!!! i love you Em and I can't wait to see your belly. Mike I hope that you make it, I know that she can be alittle moody when she has eaten I can just imagine what she is like if they both haven't .
Bye again
love you all


Advertisement



Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0467s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb