Winding down my time in Vietnam


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » South Central Coast » Quảng Nam » Hoi An
March 1st 2009
Published: March 2nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

It's hard to believe that my time in Vietnam is almost at an end. I decided to cut my volunteer teaching time short by one week because I really wanted to spend a little more time seeing places in Vietnam before meeting Larry in Beijing. But before letting me leave, my evening students took Gloria, Leanne and I on a field trip - literally. I had mentioned once that I had only seen rice fields from a distance and never actually seen rice growing. So the group took us to a small B&B type of place outside the city and we not only saw rice fields but sugar cane, mango trees, corn fields, coconut palms and a whole assortment of vegetation. The owner of the property, using a horse-drawn cart, took us on a tour throughout the town site. The cart had only two wheels, so we spent a good part of the trip hanging on for dear life hoping not to bounce out of the back of the wagon. Our butts got quite the workout, what with the wild wagon ride and the 45 minute moped ride there and back. But it was a wonderful afternoon with our new friends
Doin' the hoky pokyDoin' the hoky pokyDoin' the hoky poky

Last day of my night class and wouldn't you know it, they asked me to do the hoky poky again with them!
and a terrific way to end my time in Nha Trang.

I bid a fond farewell to my wonderful students at Crazy Kim's on Saturday after our field trip and caught a night bus for an 11 hour trip to the city of Hoi An.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Rice fieldsRice fields
Rice fields

Up close and personal. All that was missing was the waterbuffalo, but I still have hopes to catch a shot of one.
A refreshing drink of sugar cane juiceA refreshing drink of sugar cane juice
A refreshing drink of sugar cane juice

Freshly squeezed sugar cane juice was waiting for us on our ride through the village.
Our two wheeled cartOur two wheeled cart
Our two wheeled cart

The poor pony had to haul 6 people
Bus to Hoi AnBus to Hoi An
Bus to Hoi An

A tight squeeze but with a sleeping pill anything is possible!


Tot: 0.145s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.1069s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb