08/11/08-10/1108 Going North in Vietnam


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » South Central Coast » Quảng Nam » Hoi An
November 10th 2008
Published: November 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello All!!!

Another early start after bus but we are tough cookies so went straight out. Hoi An is FULL of clothing shops where you can select any material and have something made to measure on the cheap and quick! Saw a beautiful dress in one shop tried it on and, flukey person that I am, it fit. No need to have one made!! But I always do have an eye for a bargain after my TK Maxx training!! Will be perfect for the wedding. Had a look around bit of the town and then decided to do somethin we've been talkin about since our first ride in Cambodia... We hired a moped!! ha ha. A little crazy you might think (especially as they asked for no deposit or driving license...) and it cost us 100 thousand dong (about 5quid) for a day. So we went for a cruise and checked out a bit more of the town. We wanted to go a little further into the countryside but couldnt find a decent map so when the sun came out we packed our bikinis and headed to the beach!! Sun and sand all afternoon. Just a nice spontaneous relaxed day really. Awesome.
Tried some local cuisine in the eve which was good as ever.
Next morning we went to see 'My Son' (beautiful mountains translated) an hours bus out of Hoi An. Here we saw ancient ruins of the Cham era. It was beautiful set against the scenery.

Headed onto Hue straight after we came back.



Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Me on MopedMe on Moped
Me on Moped

only drove for 10 seconds, I was absolutley rubbish and a hazard on the road!!
Don on MopedDon on Moped
Don on Moped

scaringly good at handling it!!
My SonMy Son
My Son

One of the many temples in the area
My SonMy Son
My Son

Some of the ruins. Obviously they were centuries old but also alot of the temples had been bombed by the damn USA as they were informed the Viet Cong were hiding there. They weren't. Another Mistake by the Mighty USA!!
My SonMy Son
My Son

Hindu carving on temple
My SonMy Son
My Son

Fallen pillar
My SonMy Son
My Son

view to mountains
My SonMy Son
My Son

Temples and scenery


Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.047s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb