Back to Biking Basics


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » South Central Coast » Quảng Nam » Hoi An
January 16th 2005
Published: January 16th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Despite my calamitous introduction to cycling in Vietnam, I was soon remounting the spokes to trekk off to more remote regions. Relief from the harassing calls of moto-bike drivers was an additional benefit. And so, I set off to visit a reknowned pagoda, which turned out to be under reconstruction. At any rate, I was enjoying my ride so much, I decided to continue on down the dirt track, all the way out of the city limits, and into some of the surrounding towns.

In a matter of meters, I saw the world around me transform. Always a keen observer of the youth around me, I noticed the kids more than anything. Three little girls shouted gleefully in play as they tended a small shop. A hoard of 5 year olds gathered around to watch one boy scratch at the dirt with a ho. Some kids walking home from school with ruck sacks. Older boys gathered round a game of steel bowling balls. Everyone was going about their business, but happily looked up to shout a "hello." One boy shouted after me, "Good Afternoon Teacher," and it occured to me that he probably chorused that same phrase every afternoon blissfully unaware of its meaning.

Regardless, I pedalled purposefully. I was enjoying the simchat happiness of mental resolution. I'd made a decision after putting in some research time at an internet cafe. I had exactly two weeks until the final deadline for the MPH programme at the University of Sydney. Surely if I bussed on down to Saigon immediately, I would make the cut...

At least I had a temporary sense of purpose.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0627s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb