Vietnam Part 2.. although I'm in Cambodia now..


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » South Central Coast » Quảng Nam » Hoi An
August 10th 2008
Published: August 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Sooo...

Aug 4th cont

My backpack was not lost!! I was destined to be happy all day!

Sooo, I was just drifting back to sleep when we are kicked off the bus for a 4 hour stop in Hue. We missed our connecting bus. But, I thought I may want to visit this old capital town anyway. It was raining but David (teacher from US) and I 'rented'xe oms (a motor bike guide) to take us to Tu Doc's tomb. We didn't have any expectations at all.

It was lovely!! A huge place to wander for a couple of hours. It was peaceful with a lake and lillies and all kinds of old monuments, tombs and artifacts. I am not sure who Tu Doc is, but I plan to look it up at some point...

Then back on a new bus to Hoi An. This town is quaint. It has an old feel to it and lots and lots of shopping!! We find a cheap hotel right in the middle of everything with a hot shower and a fridge for our beer from Halong Bay (I know.. not much of a boozing trip).

We had a lovely supper on a balcony overlooking the streets (white rose is their speciality... shrimp in rice paper with a great dipping sauce!! Yum!)

The girls went home but I wanted to wander for a while after being on a bus for like a whole day. Their were rats everywhere in the night. Gross! All around the market. I met a guy from TO wandering as well. So we wandered together and had a drink at the ''one happening spot" in town. We exchanged travel stories, tips etc and I was in bed by 12.

Aug 5th

Spent all day at China Beach. Us 3 gals needed to work on our tans!! Swam, rocked in hammocks, sipped on fruit shakes.

Night= shopping!! Sooo soo overwhelming at first!! There are shoes everywhere and dresses and coats etc. And everyone is yelling at you to come to their shop. If you touch a shoe they are on top of you right away.. Soo frustrating and annoying but we put up with it bc the stuff was beautiful and cheap!!

I ordered 3 wool custom made coats and Susan and I went out for a 'drink'. I told her about the rats and when we saw them we held each other tight and ran down the empty dark streets squeeling and laughing.

We ended up ordering 4 moijitos for price of 3.. what could you do really???

We were joined by an English tall skinny, loaded guy ( who couldn't speak his first lang anymore.. complete jibberish) and an Aussie who claimed to be doing a documentary. We think it was a pick up line bc we were sooo out the door until he enticed us to hear more about his movie.

Aug 6th

Had best American bfast for like 3 dollars! The bacon melted in my mouth. Then I went with a xe om (motorbike) to My Son ruins. It was about an hour away. The gals stayed to shop. It was super peaceful. Barely anyone around. I walked through the woods and walkways and ruins. I sat for like an hour and took in the scenery. When I left about 15 tour buses pulled up.. I had missed the rush...

I loved being on the motorbike. Bill wasn't chatty and I could just take in the scenery. I love driving around to see the country side outside the city.

Night time shopping.. I ordered a couple pairs of boots and shoes and shirts and pants.. all for soo cheap...

Aug 7th...

Bfast at my new favorite spot.. Its nice to be a 'regular''. haha...Then, I literally ran up and down the street for my fittings...It was chaotic!! Back to same places like 3 times.. Its crazy how fast they make the clothes and then can fix them.. I was exhausted by 3 pm for our flight to Saigon.

Arrive is Saigon!! Instantly am awake and alert and pumped!! Tracy, I've been obsessed with this city and Vietnam and a bit fascinated with wars ever since you introduced me to Mis Saigon soundtrack!! Dad, didn't like it much in the truck on the way to soccer (the heat is on in Saigon is there a war going on don't ask I ain't gonna tell How are you doing there Jon? Chris I've got the hots for Yvonne We should get drunk and get laid since the end is so near ... etc.. )

We get to our hotel. Its in a happening crazy spot!! Room is on the 6th floor.. aka walk up like 20 flights of stairs.. no kidding!! But, they had a pulley system for our huge packs.. haha.. So grateful bc since Hoi An very very heavy even with sending a box home!!

I ate some Vietnam noodles.. Pho noodles.. I had to pick btw beef fillet and beef muscle or beef etc.. Weird.. basically first and last surprise beef of my trip...

Aug 8th

We got up early to head to Cu Chi Tunnels which helped Viet Cong beat US in the war. We arranged for 3 motorbikes for the day. Dan and I had 2 crazy, macho guys. My guy was like 19 and did not develop fear factor yet. There are motorbikes everywhere in Saigon (like 10 lanes at times.. if you could call them lanes.. ) but the young chap and Dan's macho man kept racing each other. It's a good thing I love speed and have always wanted my own motor bike. Susan unfortuntaly or fortunately had a bike that broke down a few times.

The tunnels were neat. We watched a video and it was a bit weird hearing the translation ( "he was awarded an honour for being an American killer etc.. ). But, its crazy how intricate the made the tunnels. Whole families lived down there and there were like 3 layers and breathing holes and termite breath holes etc.. ..

Then, back to Saigon for the War Museum. Danielle and I get there in record time and alive!! Susan, no where to be seen. We tell the guys we will all pay when she is returned to us. Danielle's guy lost it!! A real jerk! Saying he was hungry but guess who else was hungry.. NIk!! Basically we yelled at each other and I told him he was ruining my buzz. He was soo rude.. Told us F U!! We asked for 10 minutes.. Anyways, Susan did break down in the middle of nowhere, had a little traumatic experience but we went to a bar for food and tea that played music as if it was a night club to relax.

The museum was interesing too. Tons of graphic pictures but neat to read about what happened.

Then, off to a fancy gourmet Vietnamese restaurant. The food and wine was delicious!! We popped into a Jazz bar 15 mins before closing.. The Philopino girl was amazing!! We sat in front and she dedicated a song to us and chatted after she was finished.. Too bad we didn't go earlier..

Went to the crazy bar across the road with Susan for a drink.. Crappy overpriced drinks, buch of weirdos and met some French artist who quizzed us on capitals on countries... not our forte...

Then, bus to Cambodia at 930 am...





Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0467s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb