Hoi An to Dalat


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » South Central Coast » Quảng Nam » Hoi An
May 6th 2008
Published: July 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I did get quite a lot of clothes made here... It was too tempting to not. Almost every shop is a tailors and everything is such good value!! I reckon it would even be worth paying for a flight to come out here just to have clothes made. Mind you.. on getting mine back they weren't exactly as I'd invisioned them.. so depends how fussy you are I suppose!

There is a really lovely beach about 3km from the town centre so Marc and I hired bikes and went for a visit while waiting for our tailoring.

After Hoi An I went to Nha Trang, a beach resort further down the coast. Nha Trang is a quite a fun place, quite a good night life and lots of boat trips to go on etc but I actually prefered the beach at Hoi An. Because Nha Trang is quite touristy there were a lot of sellers (pestering) us to buy things and it became a bit tiring after a while to keep saying no I don't want another pair of sunglasses, sarong, dress, bracelet, necklace, random wooden box, whistlely thing, pineapple,... I had heard that Mui Ne was a nice beach resort but on getting there wished I'd skipped it and stayed in Nha Trang longer.
The tide was really high so there was no beach and the town/village is spread over the 14km long beach so didn't really have much atmosphere. There were a lot of v posh resorts though so I think it would be lovely if you were staying in one of those. My budget just about streched to a place with a pool but not quite in the same league...


Hui my driver from Hue had tried to persuade me to take a 5 day trip with him across the central highlands to Dalat. My bum (and purse) weren't really up for that but I went to visit Dalat anyway and hired another motorbike driver for the day to give me a tour of the area. It was really nice, quite high up so cold, well about 20degrees but as I've been used to 30's I was having to wear most of my clothes! They grow a lot of flowers and vegetables because of the colder climate and so I went to visit some of the farms as well as a few buddist monestries tucked away in the hillsides.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.126s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0602s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb