I'm bargaining like it's my full-time job...


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » South Central Coast » Quảng Nam » Hoi An
March 25th 2007
Published: March 25th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hoi AnHoi AnHoi An

...the beach.
So last night I got measured for clothing. How could I not, since this is the clothing capital of Vietnam, possibly all of SE Asia. I purchased two jackets, 2 button downs, 2 cargo pants, and one T-shirt, all for the nifty price of $137. The clothes are ready in about 24 hrs., but I have to go back this afternoon for possible adjustments. I spent last night in my room, getting some much needed rest. Ben, the Australian I roomed with the night before left to go South. I'll join him in the morning if he's still there. I met a couple of Swedish guys yesterday at the beach. They will be in Nha Trang as well, so we may run into each other at the bars around the beach. I can feel my time here winding down, but the trip to the Mekond Delta is coming up shortly and should provide some much needed exploration after two days of complete relaxation here. The one thing about Vietnam is, everyone is trying to sell you something, almost the entire time you are out of your hotel. I can't count how many times I have said "no." Apparently, no is
Hoi AnHoi AnHoi An

...the beach.
not something people say here. They decline in the affirmative, if that makes any sense. I am trying to adopt this method, since I am here. However, I find myself getting a bit frustrated at the constant attention. It's annoying, but a necessary evil for the survival of the people here. Some just come up to you holding out their hand. I wish I could help everyone, but I can't, so I've developed a firm attitude. I also went to the market today to buy some souvenirs and such for my ingrate friends and coworkers back home. If I forget anyone, sorry, but I ain't hauling all this crap throughout the country. All right, time to see my clothes.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Hoi AnHoi An
Hoi An

...the beach.
Hoi AnHoi An
Hoi An

...the market area.
Hoi AnHoi An
Hoi An

...Vietnam in a nutshell.
Hoi AnHoi An
Hoi An

...by my hotel.


Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.028s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0382s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb